is an opteron worth it - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2007, 04:13 AM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: is an opteron worth it

Wouldnt a 6000+ be a better option to the FX-60. Arent they cheaper? I havent checked.

Get the opty, its a cheap solution to keep you going for a while before your next build - does anyone really think NOW is a good time to buy and FX-60...?
__________________

__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 06:37 AM   #22 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: is an opteron worth it

no, the fx's are not as good as the c2q's and are usually more expensive as a recall. or will be easy after the price drop.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 09:06 AM   #23 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: is an opteron worth it

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
i see ur point........i mean like i said, i wouldnt mind getting the 4800+. Heck, i wouldnt mind getting the 4600+, but y the 3600+ when the 4800+ n 4600+ is better......err faster? Remember i want dual-core.

now im just asking again, what is the difference between the Opteron 165 or 170 being a server processor n the 4800+, 4600+, n 3600+ being desktop processor? What i know is that the server is used for hosting, like best for hosting game servers for example. Desktop is for everyday computers in homes n offices. Correct me if im wrong.

oh n about how much money i want to spend on my computer, ya that wont happen; in fact, me upgrading my CPU wont happen unless i dont get a job very soon.

my 3600 is clocked at the same speed as an x2 6000. the difference is the cache, and that will mak a small difference in gaming performance (not much), but it is a pretty noticable advantage when encoding and compressing. if you do not do that, an x2 3600 will serve you as well as the higher end amd chips. mine does. the 3600 is a dual core as well.
you are correct about the usage of server vs desktop. but the opty chips also make good desktop chips, as they process information much the same way as amd's desktop chips.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 02:05 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 506
Default Re: is an opteron worth it

Not to mention the higher quality silicon used when making an opty giving you the option to overclock those chips like mofos.
__________________
Alienware Full Tower Aurora Case
ABIT AV8 1.5 SOCKET 939 K8 MB
Amd X2 4800 socket 939
CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
2x 500gb Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s (running at 1.5 Gb/s)
Radeon® X1950PRO AGP Xtreme Gamer Edition AGP x8
Logitech Z-5500 Digital
Creative SOUND BLASTER X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS 7.1 Channels
VIGOR GAMING CLT-M2A 92mm Thermal Electric CPU Cooler
SeaSonic M12 SS-700HM ATX12V (700 watts)
Logitech G15
LG Flatron Wide 24in
Razer Copperhead Green (First Edition)
AHS 615 Gaming Headset
Windows Vitsa Ultamite (running at 32-bit)
wolfeyes89 is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 02:09 PM   #25 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: is an opteron worth it

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
my 3600 is clocked at the same speed as an x2 6000. the difference is the cache, and that will mak a small difference in gaming performance (not much), but it is a pretty noticable advantage when encoding and compressing. if you do not do that, an x2 3600 will serve you as well as the higher end amd chips. mine does. the 3600 is a dual core as well.
you are correct about the usage of server vs desktop. but the opty chips also make good desktop chips, as they process information much the same way as amd's desktop chips.
so which Opteron would u suggest i decide on getting if i want to get a server processor? The 165 or 170?

if i just stick with desktop, which one should i get? The x2 3600+, or x2 4600+, or the x2 4800+? If i can find the 4800+, i will be thrilled.

thx for ur help by the way, i appreicate it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfeyes89 View Post
Not to mention the higher quality silicon used when making an opty giving you the option to overclock those chips like mofos.
really? Interesting............but i really have no intention in OCing any CPUs yet, not until i get one of those Phenom/FX processors.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 02:22 PM   #26 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: is an opteron worth it

well, if you are not going to overclock, you should stick to the best that you can afford. if you can find a 4800, get that. you would have to overclock both the opty and the 3600 to reach the performance level of a 4800.
out of the optys, the better overclocker is the 165.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 02:30 PM   #27 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: is an opteron worth it

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
well, if you are not going to overclock, you should stick to the best that you can afford. if you can find a 4800, get that. you would have to overclock both the opty and the 3600 to reach the performance level of a 4800.
out of the optys, the better overclocker is the 165.
alright thx dude, im first gonna try to find the x2 4800+ somewhere that is at a reasonable price. If i find one, i post it on this forum to see if the price isnt a rip off or anything like that, same goes with an x2 4600+ if i find one.

IF NOT HOWEVER, then ill go with an Opteron 165 n maybe OC it a little. Question though, y not 170? U say that 165 is more OCable? How so?
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 02:33 PM   #28 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: is an opteron worth it

lol well...i dont really know why. it just is. the same way my 3600 will probably overclock better than a 4800. all of the research that i have done into optys suggests that the 165 just gets easier clocks with less voltage. it also could have something to do with the fact that the 165s are way more popular in desktops than the 170. thats probably a big factor. they are both great cpus, tho.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 03:48 PM   #29 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: is an opteron worth it

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
lol well...i dont really know why. it just is. the same way my 3600 will probably overclock better than a 4800. all of the research that i have done into optys suggests that the 165 just gets easier clocks with less voltage. it also could have something to do with the fact that the 165s are way more popular in desktops than the 170. thats probably a big factor. they are both great cpus, tho.
ok cool, thx dude for helping me.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 05:12 PM   #30 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: is an opteron worth it

so topty 170 wiull be beter for gaming then a e6300? and im trying to do 2 things one is keap my computer up a litle longer until i can afford a new build in the spring and salvage this machien and teh second is to try and build a new system faster but im preaty sure i could get the 150 for the 170 as a end of the year gift off of my father instead of a nitro tank for my paint ball gun and what kind of increase will i get from my 4000+

edit: plus im getting a 8800gts 320 mb by the end of the week for free from xfx to replace my 7900gt
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opteron 165 $125 FghtinIrshNvrDi Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 12 07-31-2007 04:42 PM
is it worth to upgrade? dingdong-man New Systems | Building and Buying 6 06-08-2007 08:54 AM
7600gt to 8600gt worth it? xxdeadweightxx New Systems | Building and Buying 19 05-27-2007 04:19 AM
Is it worth learning Python? Kharn Programming 1 05-25-2007 01:52 PM
Fellow Geeks.. MrCoffee New Systems | Building and Buying 11 05-06-2007 05:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.