is an opteron worth it - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2007, 10:01 PM   #11 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: is an opteron worth it

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
no no no get an FX-60, it's the best processor for 939. I'm afraid to say that the only way to get it now a days is off ebay for about $399-$369. Once i get the money, ill probably get it unless im closer to the release of the 790x chipset n Phenom/FX, ill get that instead.
ya but for 399 that i about 2 3rds of what i need to get a c2quad and a mobo plus 2 gigs ram so i wouldnt get a fx 60 and eve then the e6600 ouperforms it
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 06-27-2007, 10:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: is an opteron worth it

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
no no no get an FX-60, it's the best processor for 939. I'm afraid to say that the only way to get it now a days is off ebay for about $399-$369. Once i get the money, ill probably get it unless im closer to the release of the 790x chipset n Phenom/FX, ill get that instead.
do the words 300$ mean anything to u?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-27-2007, 11:32 PM   #13 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: is an opteron worth it

okay.
939 opty 165. 99.95 on new egg. will it perform as well as the e6300?
yes. will it benchmark as well as the e6300? no.
do you want performance, or benchmarks? an fx-60 would be a waste of money right now, unless you ONLY plan to game.
c'mon intel boys...lets debate.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-27-2007, 11:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: is an opteron worth it

for the price it cant be beat i don't care what core2 mumbo jumbo you give us. the opty 165 has a lot of power for $100. and even before it was this cheap it was a good deal. it makes a great upgrade for peeps like me who couldn't afford to switch architectures entirely.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 06-27-2007, 11:48 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 506
Default Re: is an opteron worth it

An FX-60 would be the **** im not denying it one bit but for the price to performance ratio go for an opty. Plus dont trust ebay one bit be really really careful especially if you're buying a processor of there. I mean thats not to say its not completely safe its just become a cesspool for fraud. I still buy stuff up there im just saying careful with something that expensive.
__________________
Alienware Full Tower Aurora Case
ABIT AV8 1.5 SOCKET 939 K8 MB
Amd X2 4800 socket 939
CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
2x 500gb Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s (running at 1.5 Gb/s)
Radeonģ X1950PRO AGP Xtreme Gamer Edition AGP x8
Logitech Z-5500 Digital
Creative SOUND BLASTER X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS 7.1 Channels
VIGOR GAMING CLT-M2A 92mm Thermal Electric CPU Cooler
SeaSonic M12 SS-700HM ATX12V (700 watts)
Logitech G15
LG Flatron Wide 24in
Razer Copperhead Green (First Edition)
AHS 615 Gaming Headset
Windows Vitsa Ultamite (running at 32-bit)
wolfeyes89 is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 12:48 AM   #16 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: is an opteron worth it

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
for the price it cant be beat i don't care what core2 mumbo jumbo you give us. the opty 165 has a lot of power for $100. and even before it was this cheap it was a good deal. it makes a great upgrade for peeps like me who couldn't afford to switch architectures entirely.
ABSOLUTELY.
if you have an s939 mobo, this is the way to go for you.
stay away from the 300 dollar fx. go with the -100 dollar opty.
lol..."core2 mumbo jumbo" lol holy crap that is some funny sh*t.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 01:19 AM   #17 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Post Re: is an opteron worth it

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
ABSOLUTELY.
if you have an s939 mobo, this is the way to go for you.
stay away from the 300 dollar fx. go with the -100 dollar opty.
lol..."core2 mumbo jumbo" lol holy crap that is some funny sh*t.
but an FX-60 is supposely better then Opteron 165 or 170 isnt it? I mean, Opteron is a server processor n wouldnt it not perform the same as an FX-60 would? Plus an FX-60 is no where to be seen except ZipZoomFly.com for $358.50. The next one down that i want to be still a dual-core is the 4800+ which i can only find on this site too for $209.00. Both the FX-60 n 4800+ is out of stock so u tell me what i should do.

AMD Athlon 64 FX-60 2.6GHz Skt939 Processor Retail at ZipZoomfly

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ 2.4GHz Skt939 Processor Retail at ZipZoomfly

this is what i want to do: i have an older brother who doesnt really care about computers n he games sometimes too. If i upgrade my CPU n my graphics card to a 7600 GT, then i can "hamdedown" to him to use OR i can give my computer to my younger brother who doesnt have one.

i am planning to fully upgrade my computer from down up at the end of this year is all i have to say, plan on spending $3500.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 01:32 AM   #18 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: is an opteron worth it

ugh FX is for enuthists, unlocked multipliers. You can get huge HT link and still keep a sane clock speed. Opties can only go to a 2.6ghz anyway i think? but the fx is not worth the 150 bucks more.

From the comp you have now, i would just get a cheap opty oc it a lil, or mabye a 3800X2. Make a new system after with all your $3500 . That would be awesome.
darksideleader is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 01:57 AM   #19 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: is an opteron worth it

the 165 can generally make 2.8 at least stable, lots of times 3+
i do agree that the fx is good for what dsl says above, adding that the ht link that you gain is not as much a benefit as the higher clock speed. plus, the higher your ht goes, the more instability you encounter. but in any event...there is no way that the fx is worth the 150 bucks. you can overclock to compensate for slower clock speeds. i would suggest as dsl does...if you are dead set against an opty, get a 3600 and it will very likely surpass the fx 60 clock speed.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 03:50 AM   #20 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: is an opteron worth it

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
the 165 can generally make 2.8 at least stable, lots of times 3+
i do agree that the fx is good for what dsl says above, adding that the ht link that you gain is not as much a benefit as the higher clock speed. plus, the higher your ht goes, the more instability you encounter. but in any event...there is no way that the fx is worth the 150 bucks. you can overclock to compensate for slower clock speeds. i would suggest as dsl does...if you are dead set against an opty, get a 3600 and it will very likely surpass the fx 60 clock speed.
i see ur point........i mean like i said, i wouldnt mind getting the 4800+. Heck, i wouldnt mind getting the 4600+, but y the 3600+ when the 4800+ n 4600+ is better......err faster? Remember i want dual-core.

now im just asking again, what is the difference between the Opteron 165 or 170 being a server processor n the 4800+, 4600+, n 3600+ being desktop processor? What i know is that the server is used for hosting, like best for hosting game servers for example. Desktop is for everyday computers in homes n offices. Correct me if im wrong.

oh n about how much money i want to spend on my computer, ya that wont happen; in fact, me upgrading my CPU wont happen unless i dont get a job very soon.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opteron 165 $125 FghtinIrshNvrDi Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 12 07-31-2007 04:42 PM
is it worth to upgrade? dingdong-man New Systems | Building and Buying 6 06-08-2007 08:54 AM
7600gt to 8600gt worth it? xxdeadweightxx New Systems | Building and Buying 19 05-27-2007 04:19 AM
Is it worth learning Python? Kharn Programming 1 05-25-2007 01:52 PM
Fellow Geeks.. MrCoffee New Systems | Building and Buying 11 05-06-2007 05:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.