Opteron VS Athlon 64 - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2006, 12:03 AM   #21 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

you can't blame the processor for a shotty board or whatever else might be the problem. Even if the processor is broke, you can't attribute the lag to 3200's not being able to get the job done.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 12:55 AM   #22 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 77
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dawizhacker
I had a
3200
dfi lanparty ultra-d
6800Gt
1 gig g skill
600 OCZ PSU
and it lagged like ****... but the CPU was flucked up since it only ran at 1.4 not at the original 2.0.
Well that's why BF2 ran so slow! Why would you lower the speed at 1.4 or was the CPU just messed up? You said it was Flucked up so it must have been a bad one.

That computer right there is sort of like what I'm getting only a few different things.
__________________

Hovertime is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 12:57 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 928
Send a message via MSN to dawizhacker
Default

It don't matter much now i got the opteron this morning, It ran at 2.0 and it was halla faster then the 3700... im going to use the 3700 for oter comp...

THX for all your help...
__________________
Casual (AMD 4000+ x4) (Stock mobo) (750 Gig + 8 TB Xternal) (150 RAPTOR) (9800GT OC x2)
(OCZ PowerStream 800 Watt) (2G OCZ) (XP/Vista)
____________________________________________
Torrenter (1.05GHZ) (Stock mobo) (250GiG) (9200 Radion) (Stock PSU) (768MB) (XP)
____________________________________________
Laptop (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.8Ghz) (2G) (8600GT) (XP/Vista) (500GiG)
dawizhacker is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 01:27 PM   #24 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
Default

Hi Guru,

I was wondering if Opteron 145 dual core or higher can use on any 939 mobo, i.e. MSI-K8NGM2-FID or not. It was said CPU Type Athlon 64 FX/Athlon 64/Athlon X2 only.
I'm concerning about cad/cam/simulation on engineering programs.
Which one is the best for me between Athlon 64/64X2 or Opteron? and Why Athlon 64/64X2's bus speed higher than Opteron's? What that mean?

Thank you in advance.
__________________
MSI-K8NGM2-FID
OPTERON 146
HDD-120 GB ATA100
FUJIPLUS LCD 19\" DVI/VGA
1 GB (2X512) G.SKILL
400-WATT PSU
LG-DVD WRITER, BENQ-DVD ROM
VGA/SOUND ON BOARD, NVIDIA 6150/430
Noom is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 03:13 PM   #25 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dawizhacker
It don't matter much now i got the opteron this morning, It ran at 2.0 and it was halla faster then the 3700... im going to use the 3700 for oter comp...
Thats stupid. They both have the same cache, same RAM, same Bus speeds, but the 3700+ has a faster clockspeed. The 3700+ IS FASTER than the Opteron 146.

Wow...
Flanker is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 06:19 PM   #26 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

this kid is crazy
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 08:42 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 928
Send a message via MSN to dawizhacker
Default

YeA i Am, Any one watching the hockey games?
__________________
Casual (AMD 4000+ x4) (Stock mobo) (750 Gig + 8 TB Xternal) (150 RAPTOR) (9800GT OC x2)
(OCZ PowerStream 800 Watt) (2G OCZ) (XP/Vista)
____________________________________________
Torrenter (1.05GHZ) (Stock mobo) (250GiG) (9200 Radion) (Stock PSU) (768MB) (XP)
____________________________________________
Laptop (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.8Ghz) (2G) (8600GT) (XP/Vista) (500GiG)
dawizhacker is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 01:57 PM   #28 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to taterknight
Default

WHy do you continually waste forum space by posting your BS builds.
taterknight is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 02:13 PM   #29 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 928
Send a message via MSN to dawizhacker
Default

taterknight why the heck are you flamming me on every post i go to?
And why on earth did you send me 24 email messages...

[Flame SNIPPED]

And if there is a MOD that can do something about it please do, caz this guy is scrueinging up everything i do, every post i made he comes up with some sort of BS. [Flame SNIPPED]

BAN HIM OR SOMETHING!!!
__________________
Casual (AMD 4000+ x4) (Stock mobo) (750 Gig + 8 TB Xternal) (150 RAPTOR) (9800GT OC x2)
(OCZ PowerStream 800 Watt) (2G OCZ) (XP/Vista)
____________________________________________
Torrenter (1.05GHZ) (Stock mobo) (250GiG) (9200 Radion) (Stock PSU) (768MB) (XP)
____________________________________________
Laptop (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.8Ghz) (2G) (8600GT) (XP/Vista) (500GiG)
dawizhacker is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 02:15 PM   #30 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to chevytrucknut
Default

watch your language, but yes, he's right, he is flaming him everywhere he goes, and it's pretty annoying.
__________________

__________________
the old system...
OPTERON 165
EVGA GeForce 6600GT
Enermax Whisper II 535W PSU
Big TYPHOON
1.2 TB
1GB Ram
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
chevytrucknut is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.