Opteron System Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2006, 04:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Default Opteron System Question

Hopefully you guys enjoy questions, because I got a lot of them, but I will start with just these few...

The motherboard I have chosen for my new computer is the Tyan Thunder K8WE (~$417) for a dual opteron system. Now, at first I was considering buying two opteron 248 (~2 x $248) processors, but then I thought I could better future proof my computer buy buying one AMD 4400 dual core (~$490). This way, I could purchase an additional dual core chip later to upgrade.

My questions is this...

1) Is it possible to only install one dual core chip on this board and have it run?

2) Do you suggest going with the dual core or the 2 opterons?

3) Any additional info/suggestions about my motherboard choice are welcome.

Thanks,
bigred
__________________

bigredx24x is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 05:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 62
Default

what are you using your computer for?
how long before you plan on upgrading again?
have you picked out other parts yet (gpu,psu,ram)?
__________________

__________________
system specs~
amd 165 opteron x2
evga 6600GT 256mb pci-e
2g corsair xms dual channel
asus a8n-e ultra atx
samsung 40g 7200rpm sata 3.0g/s
asus combo drive
antec true blue 480w psu
cheiftek ultra dragon full atx with (side window panel)
dRgreen is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 05:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the opteron 200 series CPU's are socket 940. the Athlon 64 X2's are socket 939

and your motherboard is a socket 940 board, so an Athlon 64 X2 won't work. the only Athlon 64's in socket 940 are the FX-51's and some FX-53's.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 05:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dRgreen
what are you using your computer for?
how long before you plan on upgrading again?
have you picked out other parts yet (gpu,psu,ram)?
I will be using the computer for some coding, running MATLAB, watching DVDs possibly. Little to no gaming - not a big gamer. The occasional photo editing in Photoshop. I do multitask a lot and I hate when the computer lags when I have a lot of things running.

It will probably be a few years before I upgrade I imagine, unless there is a desperate need before hand. Right now all I have is a Dell Inspiron 8000 with a p3 900 mhz, 5 years old.

The following is one possible setup I had...
Motherboard Tyan Thunder k8we $417.00
Processor AMD 4400 x2 dUal $490.00
Processor Fan
Hard Drive Maxtor 250gb 7200 $88.00
Memory (2) 512 Crucial $127.98
Video Card Radeon 9600xt $79.00
Sound Card
CD-Drive #1 Plextor 740a black $55.00
CD-Drive #2 Sony DVD-ROM $22.00
Floppy N/A w/ case
Power Supply Included w/ case
Monitor
Case Antec Titan 550 $171.00
bigredx24x is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 05:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
the opteron 200 series CPU's are socket 940. the Athlon 64 X2's are socket 939
Ok, thank you, I had overlooked that. Can you run an Opteron 2xx by itself, then add an additional one later? Or, do they have to be installed simulataneously?

Quote:
and your motherboard is a socket 940 board, so an Athlon 64 X2 won't work. the only Athlon 64's in socket 940 are the FX-51's and some FX-53's.
K, I'll take a look into those.
bigredx24x is offline  
Closed Thread

« oops! | Which CPU »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.