Opteron 148 vs San Diego 3700 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2006, 03:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 24
Default Opteron 148 vs San Diego 3700

What's the dif? same L2, same clock, and from what I have seen approx same OC ability.

996_gt2 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 03:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi

The opteron tends to overclock better. They use a little bit better goods to produce them.



<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb

Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 03:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
BennyV04988's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835

Opteron 148s have been known to repeatidly hit 2.9-3GHz on air. They are tough as nails because they are built for servers. Same thing as a 3700 but the optys are rated much higher.
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 03:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312

The 148 will OC better.
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 03:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495

Better SOI = Better OC.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 06:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness

Just like everyone said, the optys are better ocers but tend to run alittle hotter.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 08:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475

Opterons are tested more strictly. Most are the prime CPUs of the batch but you may not always get one thats better than a 3700+.

For the most part, you should be able to overclock more but this isn't the case all the time.
turtile is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 03:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 114

In short,
If u OC then Opteron
If u dont then 3700+

DFI Lan party UT NF4 Ultra
AMD Opteron 146 2.0 Mhz @ 2.8 GHz
OCZ Gold Edition 2x512 MB DDR 500 timing 2.5-3-3-8 @ DDR 560
XFX GeForce 7600 GT 256 Mb GDDR3
Antec Lanboy Mini Tower Case
Antec True Control 550W ATX2.0 PSU
Maxtor 300 GB 7200 RMP SATA 16Mb Cache
17\'\' TFT Screen 12 ms
MysticRose is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.