Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+ - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2007, 09:36 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

i think that depends on the processor and the motherboard...
__________________

__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 11:40 PM   #22 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

i cant believe you're going with the opty 144 over even the 3700+ san diego. you're RELYING on an excellent overclock just to be EQUAL to other processors

good luck with that 1.8ghz lol
__________________

__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 11:56 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

over at overclock.net, people can OC the opteron 144 to 3ghz+ without even touching the vcore. while the 3700+ and 4000+ needs a vcore of 1.65v just to get to 3ghz.
__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 08:43 PM   #24 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazieaznboi View Post
over at overclock.net, people can OC the opteron 144 to 3ghz+ without even touching the vcore. while the 3700+ and 4000+ needs a vcore of 1.65v just to get to 3ghz.
i dont really buy that. i dont think (based on my experience) that there is an amd chip that can overclock almost 100% without ANY vcore increase.
thats just my opinion, based on the facts i see.
and it really doesnt matter what mobo or chip stepping you have, an amd is not going to like a super high fsb.
list for me the people that have an amd cpu running over about 310 (if theyre lucky) external clock...? without super-duper cooling or anything like that.
and show me the am2 mobo that LETS you go above 325ish or so. not so many.
dude people have trouble overclocking an opty 165 to 3ghz, and thats the best overclocker made by amd, suppposedly.
so...i say if you are going opty, get that one.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 09:21 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

Yeah, I'll call you out on that sir, I've personally got my 4000+ sitting at 3.0GHz with 1.45Vcore.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 12:08 AM   #26 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

my bad. he was using an opteron 148 not 144. but people can reach 2.7-2.8ghz without touching the vcore on an opteron 144
__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 12:37 PM   #27 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

with an early stepping. these later steppings aren't going to yield nearly as good of an overclock
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 08:06 PM   #28 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

i already got the opteron 144. its a CACJE 0546. i haven't OCed yet but from what i researched, the CACJE 0546 can hit 2.7-2.8ghz without increasing the vcore.
__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 12:48 AM   #29 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

post it man.
but good luck i hope you make it scream!
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 01:05 AM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
post it man.
but good luck i hope you make it scream!
thanks for the support, i hope i can do SuperPI under 30s. ahaha
__________________

__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 3800+ krazieaznboi New Systems | Building and Buying 8 04-07-2007 01:28 AM
About the Core 2 Duo 4000 series veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 04-05-2007 09:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.