Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+ - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2007, 04:22 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
4000 for sure. Both the 3700+ and 4000+ are known to clock quite well.

Also it has a much higher multiplier which can make ocing easier as you won't have to run insanely high FSB speeds.
3700+ and the 4000+ are the most well known OCers. the 3700+ is more for the pros and the 4000+ is more for the noobies.

now i need to find a good stepping processor. wat r good steppings for the 4000+?
__________________

__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 09:16 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

nah the 3700 and 4000 both are equally easy to clock.

anyway I had a kab2e 0548fpmw 3700+ and it wasn't bad at all.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 03:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

they are built on the same core so which ever has the higher standard clock speed is ur best bet. Any reason ur not going for a dual core X2 4000+ or Opteron 165 ( <-this one can get 2.8 GHZ easily)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 08:09 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

im not getting a dual core becuase when AMD64 is OCed, a single performs the same an dual core OC. if you don't believe me, ill show u some CPU charts.
__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 09:53 PM   #15 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

In gaming probably yes but there is no doubt that in multitasking dual core is better.

Even now a lot of games see a 15-20&#37; increase in performance with Dual-core

I know Oblivion does.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 11:14 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

I got a 3700+ to 2.95ghz prime stable, I can't imagine it being any harder with a 4000+.
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 01:28 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

how well processors OC also depends on steppings.
__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 10:26 AM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazieaznboi View Post
im not getting a dual core becuase when AMD64 is OCed, a single performs the same an dual core OC. if you don't believe me, ill show u some CPU charts.
It really depends on the application and game...and the OS. Vista on a single core is nowhere near as snappy as on a dual core....and games like Quake 4 and Supreme Commander really shine with dual core. (dual core is pretty much a prerequisite with Supreme Commander)
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 06:07 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

well, the athlon64 4000+ is discontinued so im gonan go for opteron 144
__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 06:16 PM   #20 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

yeah and either one of them will most likely NOT like high fsb speeds.
so go with the higher stock and cross your fingers.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 3800+ krazieaznboi New Systems | Building and Buying 8 04-07-2007 01:28 AM
About the Core 2 Duo 4000 series veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 04-05-2007 09:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.