Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2007, 11:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

okay, so i have 2 processor here but i can't find the better one.

Operton 144 venus core, 1.8ghz, L2 cache 1mb, 90nm, HT 1000mhz

Athlon64 4000+ san diego core, 2.4ghz, L2 cache 1M, 90nm, HT 2000mhz

venus, san diego, and venice uses almost the exact architecture so i assume they OC the same.
seeing that the 4000+ stock is 2.4ghz and 144 at 1.8ghz, im leaning towards the 4000+.

which one is the victor?
__________________

__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 04-07-2007, 11:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

um, the 4000+

there's no guarantee you'll be able to OC the opty to 2.4 or higher
__________________

__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 04-07-2007, 11:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

a lot of people said the opteron can't OC more than 2.2ghz. maybe this is y the opteron 144 is cheaper than the 4000+
__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 12:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

Well I've got my 4000 sitting comfortably at 3.0GHz if that tells you anything.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 01:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

opteron definately....whoever said you cant get the opty past 2.2ghz doesnt know what they are talking about.
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 01:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

Optys overclock very well from what I have been told
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 01:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

Quote:
Originally Posted by hmammen View Post
opteron definately....whoever said you cant get the opty past 2.2ghz doesnt know what they are talking about.
that's an uneducated statement.

the overclocking depends alot on the motherboard too. just because the PROCESSOR can get that fast doesn't mean the motherboard will be able to get you there.

ok so even if you can OC the opteron to 2.4....you might as well get the 4000+ and overclock to 2.8 or so

you'd be an idiot to NOT get the 4000+ it's ALREADY at 2.4 STOCK. so you have nowhere to go but UP from there. if you get the opty you have to hope and pray that you can even GET to 2.4...let alone think you're gonna get a 1 ghz overclock to 2.8. that's just ridiculous
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 03:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
Optys overclock very well from what I have been told
yea, optys overclock very very well.
but the opteron uses the exact same core architecture as the 4000+ so they OC the same.

molsen is actaully right. im still leaning towards a 4000+
__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 03:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

4000 for sure. Both the 3700+ and 4000+ are known to clock quite well.

Also it has a much higher multiplier which can make ocing easier as you won't have to run insanely high FSB speeds.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 03:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 4000+

if they are the same architecture then the 4000 for sure..
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opteron 144 vs Athlon64 3800+ krazieaznboi New Systems | Building and Buying 8 04-07-2007 01:28 AM
About the Core 2 Duo 4000 series veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 04-05-2007 09:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.