Opteron 144 or Higher??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2006, 04:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default Opteron 144 or Higher???

Hey,

For gaming...Is it worth it to buy the 144 and OC it to like 2.6GHz or the 146 and take it to 2.8GHz? I know I know....nothings certain in OC'n but I have faith in them. Im wondering if it will make much difference with a 7900GT playing FEAR or something with a 2.4 vs a 2.8? is it really worth it. Will I be fine with 2.4-6GHz? It's a huge price jump, the 144 to the 146. Is it worth the extra OC potential? I'm trying to make ends meet for a college gaming beast finally and it seems like i need to throw in an LCD for space OUCH! I've had to drop down the hdd space to 250gb but wont settle for only a gig of ram lol. But back on subject...The cpu, will i notice a huge difference in 2.4 to a 2.8 or something?
__________________

__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 04:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

the video card is more important than the processor. If you keep the 7900GT, you have to decide whether the sacrifices you make to get 146 are worth it.
__________________

Spartan is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 04:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

AM2? Conroe?
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 04:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

What about them? AM2 is a total dissappointment and Conroe isn't out yet, (and won't be for some time.) I am sold on the opteron 939s, I'm just wondering if the difference in CPU speed/OC ability would make a big difference in FPS. I mean with a video card that fast, does 2.4-2.6 make a big difference?
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 05:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

no, a 200mHZ difference in CPU clock will not make much of a difference with a 7900 series card
Spartan is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 06:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

sounds good then....I just want to be able to OC to something in the low-mid 2's and run every feakin game maxed out finally. Its been too long...far too long. I'm trying to figure out the cheapest way to build this system and do that.

I mean 2gb or 1gb?
Do I neeeed 1/2 TB? lol
Am I ever going to USE SLI
(It seems the price to upgrade to next series is always cheaper than buying another card and keeping your old one too) but then again all the gooood boards come with SLI comp anyway.

I'm just trying to be realistic here. It's tricky!
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 07:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

wut are the specs on your current system??
Spartan is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 12:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

lmao....

xp2000 1.66GHz
ti4200
512mb
80gb

Ya I need an upgrade really bad. I'm amazed it still plays some great games.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.