oppy 165 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-20-2006, 01:25 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

ok thanks
__________________

__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 08:01 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 59
Default

so i oc the oppy to 2.2 what would the ram have to be oced to or what sort of devider would i have to use
__________________

__________________
Opteron 165 @ 2.2
DFI Lanparty nF4 Ultra-D
Leadtek 7800gt
1 Gb OCZ premier @ 200mhz
Bilbotubbins is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 08:10 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Depends on the speed it's running at really ... If you buy PC2700 memory it's going to probably be different than PC3200 memory.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 08:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 240
Default

So.. if I got an opty 165... and nabbed 2gb of OCZ plat. ram (DDR400) and run a Blue Orb II on it in a nicely cooled case... assuming I get an ok stepping, could I easily get 2.2+ speeds?

I defintly want to beat my friend's 4200 and I'm wondering if going w/ a 3800 and oc'ing a bit is the better choice... tho I'd much rather have the opty.
__________________
In The Mail!!!!- Athlon 64 3500 @Stock/Abit K9N SLi sAM2/2GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @Stock /XFX G7900GT XXX 520/1500Mhz/74GB Raptor w/ 16mbcache/300GB 16mbcache SATA HD/NEC DVD-RAM Burner/OCZ ModStream 520watt psu/ThermalTake Armor Jr./Logitech EX110 mouse/keyboard
Mk97 is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 08:43 PM   #15 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Assuming you have PC3200 memory, you would have to set the CPU multi to 9, the LDT multi to 4, the HTT to 245, and the memory divider to 166 (5:6). These settings will OC your CPU to 2.2GHz and keep your RAM at DDR400. And you'd be VERY hard pressed to get a 165 that didn't do more than 2.6GHz, let alone 2.2.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 09:20 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 59
Default

the ram will be either
1.http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145450
2.http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227039
3.http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820144310

which one will be the best if i decide to oc it, its going itno a dfi lanparty ut nf4
__________________
Opteron 165 @ 2.2
DFI Lanparty nF4 Ultra-D
Leadtek 7800gt
1 Gb OCZ premier @ 200mhz
Bilbotubbins is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 09:26 PM   #17 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Well, corsair is known to not work so well with DFI, so between the OCZ and GEIL, I'd go with the OCZ. If you read the first review, the guy got it to 250MHz, which is DDR500.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 10:49 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default

I've got RAM #1, OC's very well haven't reached it's limit yet and i've been to 2.9 Ghz...but I don't know about using it on a DFI motherboard, you may want to research that a little further...some rams don't like some motherboards and vice versa.
__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 11:09 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 59
Default

what other ram is there at around the same price as the corsair ( 99 us)
__________________

__________________
Opteron 165 @ 2.2
DFI Lanparty nF4 Ultra-D
Leadtek 7800gt
1 Gb OCZ premier @ 200mhz
Bilbotubbins is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.