opinions/changes on new build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2006, 02:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default opinions/changes on new build

*all prices Canadian funds*


trying to keep it in the 1500.00 range, still need to head to the store to find a box.
feel free to make changes (especially on RAM and PSU) if need be.


AMD Athlon X2 - 3800+
http://www.anitec.ca/product/004250/...939_processor/

DFI Ultra-D
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...&sku=D452-2030

Corsair TwinX1024
http://www.anitec.ca/product/001740/...r_kit_with_led's/

WD 36gig Raptor
*link not working*
126.00 Canadian

eVGA 7900GT CO 256
http://www.anitec.ca/product/005849/...b_pci_express/

Antec TruePower II 550w
http://www.anitec.ca/product/003742/..._power_supply/


total cost w/ tax and shipping
1540.41
__________________

__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 05-09-2006, 02:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

wow dude, i'm looking at making almost the exact same build... wild. anyways, i was thinking about cuttin a corner on the mobo and getting just one 16x pci express slot, it'll save you probably $80 if you dont plan on SLI or Xfire. I'm not sure if this is the wisest thing, but i'm considering it. use the money i save on 2GB ram.
__________________

__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 05-09-2006, 04:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

for your video card get an eVGA 7900gt KO
it has a copper heatsink which will keep you cool

i wouldnt go with a raptor.
instead i would get like a 250 gig hard drive 7200 rpm
i dont see raptor as well worth it right now

you may want to consider getting 2 gigs of ram as opposed to 1gig.
its really up to you but i would def. upgrade it
or maybe just purchase a 1 gig stick and later when you have the cash put in another 1 gig stick to equal out at 2 gigs
Corsair is a good choice though so stick with that bro!

everything else is great
you should have no problems
__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Old 05-09-2006, 10:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

thanks for the inputs guys

i'll gonna stay w/ the raptor though.
i want a good fast HD and it's only going to have my o/s, drivers and games on it.
nothing else.
i have way to much space free as is, i don't need another 150gig....

i'll look into the KO card.
and i'll be upgrading the ram again early to mid-summer when i get more for my servers
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 05-09-2006, 11:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

sounds good

i didnt take notice that you already had a 120 gig. i would buy a raptor too if i had a 2nd HDD already

have fun with your build
__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 01:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 44
Default

I noticed my spec on the computer parts I recently purchased (on the 8th I believe) seem to be very close to that. The spec I customized is VERY close to the tiems you show here, same graphics card model 7900gt same processor and same brand ram.

If you can get 2g it would be worth it. I was able to get 2g ram on mine though I ended up paying with all pc parts case etc etc $1,560.00 (but that was with media center MS and some other things you dont really need for gaming) forgot exact amount have to look it up but about that. Anyhow from the help I have goten here your current spec on the parts you show here seem nice.
__________________

__________________
Case: Tuniq gaming tower
Motherboard: Asus A8n32 sli Deluxe x16
CPU: Dual core 3800 Athlon AMD 64
GPU: Nvidia 7900gt
Ram: 2g corsair
Power Supply: 500 watt
Cooling: Cooler Master Liquid cooling
Hard disk: 160g 7200 rpm
Drive: Dvd -R -RW +R +RW
Sound Card: Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Hunt12 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.