Operating system question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2007, 12:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Operating system question

I'm upgrading my Mobo to a ASUS M2N AM2 socket Athlon 64 bit processor and i'm wondering which would be the best choice between Vista-64 bit home premium or 32 bit XP home OS

my other hardware im sure would be compatible
__________________

__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 12:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 141
Default Re: Operating system question

xp because you dont have 2 gigs of ram. also your proc is a little dated, not sure if your sayin that you are upgrading both or just the mobo anyway vista is hardcore, even with my specs (see sig) its giltchy not worth it yet.
__________________

Raknor is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 12:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: Operating system question

well im thinking about getting 2Gb of DDR2 800 PC 6400. BUT i heard vista is a HUGE mem hog so that wouldnt be so good for gaming would it
__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 01:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Operating system question

Quote:
Originally Posted by BonKerz View Post
well im thinking about getting 2Gb of DDR2 800 PC 6400. BUT i heard vista is a HUGE mem hog so that wouldnt be so good for gaming would it
Its not that bad really. With 2GB it should run smoothly. Vista 64bit is a good choice i think, it is more futureproof (can use more than 3.2gb ram) and drivers are not hard to come by anymore. You would only get a small performance loss against XP in games, simply because the drivers arent as optimized.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 12:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 141
Default Re: Operating system question

2 gigs is more than enough although 4 would be the best for vista 64 regardless if your processor isnt up to the task i would advise against it. also the main reason most of us are switching to vista is directx 10 since you have a directx 9 card it might not make sense to upgrade to vista unless you plan on getting a geforce 8 series
Raknor is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 01:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Operating system question

Hello,

Quote:
Originally Posted by BonKerz View Post
well im thinking about getting 2Gb of DDR2 800 PC 6400. BUT i heard vista is a HUGE mem hog so that wouldnt be so good for gaming would it
While Windows Vista's memory requirements are larger compared to XP, and Vista's memory usage appears to be fairly large, the bulk of the memory usage is due to Vista SuperFetch - a different and more effective approach to memory management.

Coding Horror: Why Does Vista Use All My Memory?



You can see on my system that a fair chunk of the RAM is being used as a cache (547MB of RAM) to improve system performance, leaving just 29MB of RAM unused while the rest is being used by processes and programs. RAM allocation changes depending on my activity. So for example, if I were to open up Corel PaintShop Pro XI, cache memory will decrease so that memory can be allocated to the program.

Ideally, there shouldn't be any unused memory. Memory should always be used and allocated effectively.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 04:26 PM
system build question jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 54 07-23-2007 12:12 AM
error loading operating system ? joey1 Microsoft Windows and Software 7 06-18-2007 11:04 PM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.