Open box desktop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2016, 08:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Home
Posts: 1,105
Default Open box desktop

What do you guys think of this open box desktop I am thinking on buying?

Open Box: ASUS Desktop Computer M32BC-B01 AMD FX-Series FX-8310 (3.40 GHz) 8 GB DDR3 2 TB HDD AMD Radeon R7 240 2 GB Windows 8.1 64-Bit - Newegg.com

Opinions plz.

thx
__________________

chara33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2016, 08:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: Open box desktop

Not bad, only problem is that CPU will take most of your PSU wattage.

Sorry I forgot all about building that rig for you. This will do. Just add a CX500 to the mix and a cheap GPU like a GTX 950 if you can budget it in or a 750ti.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 02:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: Open box desktop

This is a better deal, brand new.

Shell Shocker Deal. Exclusive Jaw Dropping Savings on PC Components and Electronics - Newegg.com
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 09:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Home
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: Open box desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
If u could build a rig that included that what do u think the final figure could be roughly?

thx. I appreciate it.
chara33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2016, 07:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: Open box desktop

Open box is still a shell shocker deal, just buy that since it's your best option right now.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2016, 07:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Home
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: Open box desktop

For $28 more i can get it brand new and this one has a 1 yr warranty where as the open box 1 doesnt. What do u guys think?

ASUS Desktop Computer M32BC-B01 AMD FX-Series FX-8310 (3.40 GHz) 8 GB DDR3 2 TB HDD AMD Radeon R7 240 2 GB Windows 8.1 64-Bit - Newegg.com
chara33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2016, 09:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: Open box desktop

The shell shocker deal is over now and that AMD based rig is 120 more than that Shell Shocker deal was. The reason I was telling you to get it is because the Intel processor uses a whole lot less power leaving enough money to get a good GPU and put it in there on the stock PSU. Maybe even an SSD. Since it's over you might as well just get the AMD system because the biggest deal is the copy of Windows needed which that system comes with. Any system built will need an OEM copy of Windows which is automatically 100 off the budget.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 09:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Home
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: Open box desktop

PP, was gonna get this until i found out no warranty with it. Will try building one.
chara33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 09:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: Open box desktop

What about the other thread you posted with the weird itx HP?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 01:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Home
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: Open box desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
What about the other thread you posted with the weird itx HP?
Newegg put that build together, not me. If you wanna try building something for me i would greatly appreciate it? The only thing i prefer is I5 processor and intel mobo and 8GB RAM with expansion slots to upgrade if needed.

thx
__________________

chara33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Win 7: Blue box vs green box? frldyz New Systems | Building and Buying 2 03-24-2015 07:14 AM
Desktop Tray Launcher, Open Desktop Shortcuts From The Windows System Tray Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 10-06-2010 08:30 AM
Network connection from a physical box to a virtual box cloksin Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 01-08-2009 03:07 PM
Open Dialog Box. Aminalaizer Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 10-22-2003 04:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.