oops! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2006, 05:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to chevytrucknut
Default oops!

Not a big problem, I hope.

So far, I have my case, HDD, DVD writer, mobo, PSU, and floppy drive installed. But, now I'm thinking I might want to switch cases. There's a comp. store up the road and I think if I sell them my new PSU and case, they'll let me buy another one. I'm thinking of going to a Full tower ATX.

Anyways, my question is, my mobo came in the anti-static bag, is anything going to be messed up if I go ahead and remove everything, put it back in the boxes, then re-install it when ready? Or will this mess up any components?

I haven't powered anything up yet btw
__________________

__________________
the old system...
OPTERON 165
EVGA GeForce 6600GT
Enermax Whisper II 535W PSU
Big TYPHOON
1.2 TB
1GB Ram
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
chevytrucknut is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 06:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 133
Default

If your careful with the hardware and dont touch any components then it wont mess anything up. Just make sure you keep anythings static away from the parts.
__________________

24/7 Gamer is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 07:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

just properly ground yourself by touching the metalic part of the case before touching the components or you can use an anti-static wrist strap.
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 11:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

if you're as hairy as I am, the wrist strap might not work. I would suggest getting ahold of the side of the case before you go diving in. That's the best way to keep all of you components happy.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 05:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FghtinIrshNvrDi
if you're as hairy as I am, the wrist strap might not work.
lol
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.