Only detecting 1 core - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2008, 10:59 PM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 15
Default Re: Only detecting 1 core

updating windows now. On another note I dled a utility from amd that came up with a notice after I launched it stating that my comp does infact have a dual core but that either the bios or Os is not allowing both to function. So at the very least I know for sure now that both are not working.
__________________

spiveslude is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 09:37 AM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 15
Default Re: Only detecting 1 core

Still no luck guys. I don't have windows install cds with me so I can't really reformat. They are like 400 miles away back home right now so that really isn't an option unless I buy a new copy. Is there anything else I can try?
__________________

spiveslude is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 07:39 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default Re: Only detecting 1 core

go in device manager, uninstall the processor listed, reboot.

Device Manager does not show updated processor information on a Windows Vista-based computer
macdawg is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 10:51 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 15
Default Re: Only detecting 1 core

Although I am on xp pro, I tried this to no avail.
__________________

spiveslude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Processor confusion Intel Core 2's zwh02 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 01-22-2008 02:29 AM
How do I compare CPUs? Dual Core, Core 2 Duo, Quad Core... 706 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-05-2007 08:27 AM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.