Only 400 Points increase from stock speeds? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2007, 01:35 AM   #21 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Only 400 Points increase from stock speeds?

Pinoy, are you going to keep playing with 3Dmark06?
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 01:40 AM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Only 400 Points increase from stock speeds?

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
Pinoy, are you going to keep playing with 3Dmark06?
??? Just want to see what kind of improvements overclocking does on 3D

Edit: And is 65C too high temperature for GPU?
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 01:41 AM   #23 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Only 400 Points increase from stock speeds?

Haha, I was kidding around. Is that an Idle Temperature? If it is, seems a bit high. Did you change the thermal paste or something?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 01:44 AM   #24 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Only 400 Points increase from stock speeds?

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
ATi Tool is just too simple.
There's no such thing as "too simple"

When most people overclock their video card, all they're going to do is increase frequencies and test stability, and perhaps monitor temperatures. ATI Tool does exactly that.

Anyway, I use ATI Tool because it's more stable, and testing is far better than anything else I've used.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 01:49 AM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Only 400 Points increase from stock speeds?

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
Haha, I was kidding around. Is that an Idle Temperature? If it is, seems a bit high. Did you change the thermal paste or something?
thats for GPU Temp not CPU, i changed it to 606/900 and will run 3D on it tomorrow to see how it goes.

My CPU temp is at 38C Idle
Core 1 - 30C
Core 2 - 30C both Idle.

Full Load is
CPU - 44~46
Core 1 - 39~40
Core 2 - 39~40
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 01:50 AM   #26 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Only 400 Points increase from stock speeds?

Well what I meant by "simple" was for people who knows how to use it already. Basically, what I'm trying to say is that having experienced with ATi Tool and using it a plentiful of times makes it simple to use. Checking for Artifacts, seeing if the Core and Mem clock is at a stable speed, and monitoring temperatures.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 01:52 AM   #27 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Only 400 Points increase from stock speeds?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoy3000 View Post
thats for GPU Temp not CPU, i changed it to 606/900 and will run 3D on it tomorrow to see how it goes.

My CPU temp is at 38C Idle
Core 1 - 30C
Core 2 - 30C both Idle.

Full Load is
CPU - 44~46
Core 1 - 39~40
Core 2 - 39~40
Actually, you can change the thermal paste on the GPU as well. The CPU temperatures looks great. What about the GPU? Is that an idle temperature?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 02:05 AM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Only 400 Points increase from stock speeds?

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
Actually, you can change the thermal paste on the GPU as well. The CPU temperatures looks great. What about the GPU? Is that an idle temperature?
GPU Idle temp is 66~67C
Load is 75~80C

Waaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhh 80C

but its running at 612MHz/900MHz and heres my latest 3D results.... 9911

Futuremark - ORB - Result Analyzer

thats at 612/900

the 560/852 was 9403 - Futuremark - ORB - Result Analyzer
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 02:10 AM   #29 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Only 400 Points increase from stock speeds?

Wow, that's really hot for idle and load. Are you running your GTS fan at 100%?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 02:16 AM   #30 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Only 400 Points increase from stock speeds?

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
ATi Tool is just too simple.


I dunnue, Rivaturner was pretty "simple"!...
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$1000 Challenge... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 33 04-22-2007 01:34 PM
BF2 Points WorldIndustries PC Gaming 10 04-14-2007 06:31 PM
Infractions Dave Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback 5 03-26-2007 08:33 AM
Question About The Yellow and Red Cards Harper Off Topic Discussion 118 03-24-2007 11:02 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.