this one should be easy.... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2006, 10:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

uh can we see the configuartion? So we can get some more opinons here???

Well you might want to be SLi ready or you might not, as you may upgrade later on.

If you are not an OC'er

MSI K8N NEO4-F
X2 4400+
7800GTX 512MB
Corsair valueselect 2*1GB
Seagate 2*250GB hdd's
Thermaltake soprano
Antec truepower 550W power supply
X-FI

That will be roughly around 2000 dollars.

If you are an OC'er i would defintely go with somethign like this

DFI UT NF4 ultra-D
Opty 165 or 170
OCZ or G.Skill 2*1GB ram
7800GTX (512MB)
Antec truepower 550W power supply
Thermaltake Soprano
How big of a hdd do you need?
X-FI
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 10:34 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

umm, i already configured it pzero, opty 180, evga 7800gtx, 2gb corsair xms, asus ASUS A8N5X mobo, 250 gb segate barracuda SATA hdd, aspire 550w psu, Lian-li case-creative audgy 2 budget.
**** be getting water cooling for it
__________________

__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 11:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Why the 180? Should probably go with a 165 or 170 like PZERO said. Half the price, and a mild overclock would make up the difference in speeds.
Probably should get a better power supply too and an X-fi instead of the audigy.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 11:48 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

The opteron 180 isn't making much sense. The only reason he'd be getting an Opteron is because he's overclocking. If that's the case, the Opteron 170 is the clear choice.

The Asus motherboard is questionable. Since he has an Opteron picked out, I assume he's overclocking again. DFI is the brand you want if you're overclocking, namely the Lanparty series.

The PSU you picked out isn't exactly top-of-the-line. Antec is the popular favorite PSU manufacturer. Fortron is another winner of the group. I'm not a big PSU guy, but I know Aspire is very mediocre.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 12:09 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
NickFas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 273
Default

aren't ocz power supplies generally good...i have heard that. And just a question, is there any difference between the 180 and the 170 besides clock speeds?

NIck
__________________
Proud owner of the only hampster powered rig on these boards.
NickFas is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 12:24 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

There are a lot of good power supplies, ocz is one of them, aspire is not as good. I think the only difference between the 180 and 170 is the multiplier.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 02:16 AM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

he's not overclocking, the opteron was the best cpu for that price, if aspire is that bad why does pzero have one?
This meeted his budget, i simply helped him browse. This worked to the budget he had & made him happy.
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 02:34 AM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to ferris
Default

They didn't attack you Tobes, they were questioning your choices and suggesting better ones. If nothing was questioned then where would we be today. Thats how you learn and thats how you make something better, you question it and ask advice from others. I personally wouldn't go Aspire. Remember a bad PSU could possibly bring a whole system with it.

Asus is questionable because of their horrendous customer support. Sure, they may pump out some good products in a bunch, but if your motherboard goes bad, or you have some technical issues and need to ask them about it, you're probably out of luck.
ferris is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 02:35 AM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Even if he isnt overclocking, it doesnt take much to overclock a 170 to 180 speeds for nearly half the price.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 02:36 AM   #20 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Lay off the remarks, guys.

Everyone has their personal opinions, and lots of times people will take someone else's advice over your own.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.