Which One Is Better ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-16-2005, 11:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 28
Talking Which One Is Better ?

i am trying to buy a HDD, but i have 2 good choices , i was wandering which HDD would better.

Maxtor MaXLine III 7L250S0 250GB 7200 RPM Serial ATA150
16mb Cache

OR

Maxtor DiamondMax 10 6B250S0 250GB 7200 RPM Serial ATA150
16mb Cache

It would be very helpful, THANX.
you guys could give me other choices too.
__________________

RAT-9 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 11:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

i would say the maxline but that doesnt haev NCQ so i would say the diamondmax, but i dont know anything about maxtor cause i never liked maxtor

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144185
RoHS Comliant (Restriction of Hazardous Substances)
Maxtor supports the Global Environment
Reduce lead, mercury, hexavalent chromium, cadmium, polybrominated biphenyls (PBB), and polybrominated diphenyl ether (PBDE) contents. Maxtor-developed Shock Protection
System (SPS) and Data Protection System (DPS).
Fluid dynamic bearing motor for quiet operation

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144358
SATA II features
NCQ [Native Command Queuing]

O we can give other choices.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144701



free floppy drive
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 11:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 28
Default

Ahhh.. i see.
i was gonna buy it from newegg too.
is the MaxLine 3 newer than the diamondMax?
thanks
RAT-9 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 11:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

the maxline III is newer then the diamondmax, the diamondmax came out in 2002? and the maxline came out in 2004?
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 11:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 28
Default

which one would you buy?
choose from all HDDs
RAT-9 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 11:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

if i were you, do you really need 250GB of space, if you dont i would say go with a WD raptor 10k and a nice 7200rpm seagate like 160GB or somethign for data/storage

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...&Go.x=0&Go.y=0

and

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148034

i mean you don thave to get the 160GB you can get the 250GB or even the 300GB or even the 80GB

im just saying do that, and DO NOT RAID them together

just put the OS and important files/games on the raptor. and put everything else on the seagate one. thats what most ppl do here i might buy myself a raptor soon
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 11:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 28
Default

the reason iwant to get 250 gigs is becuz i dont want to buy any other HDDs later on. and that the technology will last for a few years.
another reason is that i have the worst hdd right now, i dont know why i bought it. its a ExcelStor 40 Gb. 2 mb cache and ATA-100
It takes about 1.5 mins to startup my PC. that really sucks.
RAT-9 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 11:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 28
Default

Wait, what is RAID i really dont understand that.
RAT-9 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 11:34 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 28
Default

Hey MaxlIne 3 does have NCQ
check this out---
http://www.maxtor.com/_files/maxtor/...data_sheet.pdf
RAT-9 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 11:35 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

do a good search on it. or search the forums.

Redundant Array of Independent (or Inexpensive) Disk

http://www.webopedia.com/TERM/R/RAID.html

http://www.acnc.com/raid.html

and the raptor is faster then the maxtor one, and can load windows up in 23 seconds :shocked:
i see no use in 1 6MB cache, just spend it on a gooooood hdd
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.