Which One is Better? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2006, 11:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 21
Default Which One is Better?

Hey,

i was wondering which of these 3 cpu's are better?

C.P.U 1) AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core - 4200+ Socket AM2 - Full DDR2 Support - $296

C.P.U 2) Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E6400, 2.13Ghz - 2MB L2 - 1066Mhz - 65nm - LGA775 - "allendale core" - For Use with Intel 965 & Above - $365

C.P.U 3) Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E6600, 2.4GHz, 4MB L2 catch, 1066GHz FSB - $489

Ive heard great things about AMD CPU's and ive also used good intel CPU's but ive been hearing that the intel core 2 duo's have over heating problems etc. which one would be better for use with games, word, internet explorer and wmp etc? just casual use?

i was planning to get amd, but now im not sure because of the intel corre 2 duo. could you's help me in the right direction?

Regards,
Jeremy
__________________

jeremytfdm is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 12:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 236
Default

Screw the first one.

If you plan on overclocking and would like to spend the money elsewhere/save the money and still have awesome performance get the second one*.

If you don't really care about the money/are not overclocking then go for the third/are overclocking but don't care about the money and want the best* go for the third.


Hope this helps

*Delete as appropriate
__________________

__________________

Main Rig
/// Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 at 3.8 ghz /// 512MB Nvidia 7900GT Gainward Golden Sample \'Goes Like **** Edition\' /// OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) PC5300 Dual Channel Gold GX XTC Series /// Intel Extreme D975bx-304 975X Mobo /// 2x Western Digital Raptor X 150GB in RAID 0 /// OCZ GameXStream 700w Silent SLI Ready ATX2 Power Supply ///
Light Rig : /// Intel Core 2 DUO E6300 /// Intel DP965LT 965 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard /// Corsair 2GB DDR2 Value Select PC5300 /// Sapphire ATI Radeon X1900 GT 256MB ///
LU4sTrooper is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 12:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

i would acually get the e6300 and o/c if u want
__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 03:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

E6600
turtile is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 04:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

E6600 on Conroe is currently better, but if you are willing to get AM2, then buy 4400+ on Toledo core.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 04:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 21
Default

Hmmmm how do i check if the CPU is conroe or not? the e6600? i would be willing AM2 but not te 4400+ because the store i go to doesnt have it, only 4200+,4600+ and the 5000+.

So yeah all in all which one is best?
jeremytfdm is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 04:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 27
Default

Are you in the US? If so shop at newegg.com, you can get the E6400 for about $229 USD. That's what I'm looking at. The E6400 is a Conroe just so you know. Also this helped me make my decision in what CPU I want...

http://www23.tomshardware.com/cpu.html
edgewoodzgimp13 is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 05:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
The E6400 is a Conroe just so you know
no it is not. it is an Allendale

Quote:
Hmmmm how do i check if the CPU is conroe or not? the e6600?
the e6300 and e6400 are Allendale cores. the e6600, e6700 and x6800 are Conroe cores.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 07:10 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 21
Default

hmm well i live in australia so USD means nothing to me :P. err so if i buy an e6600 which is about $500 Aussie dollars, thats a good cpu right?

Remember aussie $ is alot different to USD so yeah.

Thanks
jeremytfdm is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 07:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yeah it's a good processor for the price. i'll put it this way. when i bought my X2 3800+ it cost me $500au. that is a 2.0ghz AMD dual core. the Conroe e6600 beats an FX-60 (AMD 2.6ghz dual core, costing a heck of a lot more than $500au) and challenges the FX-62 (2.8ghz AMD dual core, costing even more ). so it is quite good value.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.