One or 2 video cards? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2008, 11:59 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: One or 2 video cards?

can u dedicate 1 card to each monitor?(gx2) if you can that would be a good option. but obviously 9800gtx's in sli would be better and im guessing itll be easier to setup. were u thinking of upgrading to the q6700 frpom a q6600? i would get the q6600 in that case the q6700 doesnt offer too much better performance.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-31-2008, 10:38 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: One or 2 video cards?

Woops. I had a typo on my last post. I meant 2 9800GTX's. And I can't have SLI with two monitors. The dedicating 1 card to each monitor is what I plan to do, but that is what I have been asking about on here this whole time to make sure it would work. I'm not sure what processor he has but it isn't a quad-core. I think it's a two year old computer with a lower dual-core in it (he hasn't told me his current configuration; just that he needs a better one).

I want to go with the q6700 because he can afford it, the multiplier is one higher, and so in theory it should overclock easier and higher.
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 02:24 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: One or 2 video cards?

im not sure if u can entirely dedicate each card to a monitor. But it sounds like it could be the cpu thats slowing him down. also he should have 4gb of ram of hes running two instances of games.

true, in theory a q6700 would be better coz it has higher multi but stick with a q6600. the limitation is heat on air cooling for quad cores. and q6700 will suffer from the same heat as the q6600.

im not sure if running two cards not sli mode would work, hopefully someone else here has tried before.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 09:58 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: One or 2 video cards?

I know you can run multiple cards for multiple monitors, I'm just not sure if it would run the full power of each card per monitor. 4GB is what I'm giving him for the new build (once again, I don't know his current setup). With the budget he's given me, I really want to go with a 45nm quad cpu so then I could really overclock that thing.

It seems that using the Asus Rampage with its 2 PCI-E x16 2.0 lanes, that both video cards should be able to run at full tilt and as long as one monitor is plugged into each card, it seems to reason that each monitor would have it's dedicated video card and would therefore run games on both monitors at the same time just fine.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 10:19 AM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: One or 2 video cards?

ugh... double post.

EDIT: May as well turn this into something useful. I know of people who use multiple monitor setups to play games like Flight Simulator, and they use multiple video cards. So it seems like devoting one monitor per card would be the best way to maximize performance per monitor. Can anyone confirm my speculations?
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Diagnostic tool for video cards Prophet Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 03-18-2008 12:29 PM
Video Cards & Copper Heatsinks Whirlwind New Systems | Building and Buying 4 01-13-2008 07:03 AM
Lower Video Card noise by reducing the fan speed Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 01-01-2008 12:53 PM
video cards levon11 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 09-25-2007 12:46 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.