One or 2 video cards? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2008, 04:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default One or 2 video cards?

Ok, I need a setup that will run two monitors and have 2 instances of either WoW or EQ2 going on at the same time (one on each monitor). Would it be best to use two video cards so that each monitor gets it's own devoted card, or would it be best to use one high end card with multiple DVI ports? I will need to run Age of Conan as well as other demanding games, so I was thinking 2 9800GTX's if going the 2 video card solution.
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 05-30-2008, 04:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: One or 2 video cards?

2 9800gtx's are good dual-card solution, plus there are no 1 card solutions that can beat that anyways (9800gx2's still perform worse than dual 9800gtx's), but thats only if you want it urgently

Unless you're willing to wait (you've been here long enough to know whats coming up, I've seen you recommend them )
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-30-2008, 05:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: One or 2 video cards?

I hope you realize this won't be SLI. It will be two cards running independently to bring the best performance of 2 monitors. SLI wouldn't work with 2 monitors.

Just wanted to make sure. And these will be EVGA cards so the step-up is an option.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 05-30-2008, 05:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: One or 2 video cards?

I'm pretty sure you can still do that without SLI
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-30-2008, 06:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: One or 2 video cards?

Ya, you can just do 2 9800GTX's. or 8800GTS. I'm not sure how you'll be able to get wow to play in the secondary monitor though.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 05-30-2008, 07:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ...
Posts: 474
Default Re: One or 2 video cards?

i dont think you can run two monitors off one card, i think, not too sure really, and you can get two ATI cards in crossfire and have two monitor outputs.
khan008 is offline  
Old 05-30-2008, 08:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: One or 2 video cards?

You can... ^^
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-30-2008, 08:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: One or 2 video cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by khan008 View Post
i dont think you can run two monitors off one card, i think, not too sure really, and you can get two ATI cards in crossfire and have two monitor outputs.

Yes you can its quite common to do so, very very easy to do as most if not all dedicated graphics cards have dual outputs now.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 05-30-2008, 08:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: One or 2 video cards?

My 9600xt has dual monitor support
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-30-2008, 11:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: One or 2 video cards?

Alright then. Well this build is for a friend and apparently he already has a setup that enables him to have two instances running in multiple monitors, but his system is aging and it really starts to bog down when he runs the second instance of the game. So I figured using a high end board like the Asus Rampage formula and two 9800GX2's would give the best performance because I could dedicate one graphics card per instance of the game (per monitor). I know I could just get one card, but I wasn't sure how this would affect the performance when running two graphics extensive games.

He has a good budget and I was considering stepping a bit higher to the Q6700 but they are out of stock right now (well the retail version is, and I need retail to have the warranty).
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Diagnostic tool for video cards Prophet Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 03-18-2008 12:29 PM
Video Cards & Copper Heatsinks Whirlwind New Systems | Building and Buying 4 01-13-2008 07:03 AM
Lower Video Card noise by reducing the fan speed Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 01-01-2008 12:53 PM
video cards levon11 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 09-25-2007 12:46 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.