omg i did not just mess up my new pc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2006, 10:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to ChrisX
Exclamation omg i did not just mess up my new pc

while trying to get my raid working i loaded one of the saved C-MOS files.... one that i hadnt saved anything to. I cant get an image on my monitor which makes me think that there was no setting for the video out, i did save the settings i had to one of the sets and tried to blind navigate and load it but i dont think my keyboard is working either.

PLEASE tell this completelty stupid person (me) that there is a way to completely reset the BIOS. thank you thank you.
__________________

__________________
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black
Radeon HD 5770
Asus M4A79XTD EVO
4GB DDR3 1600
1 WD 230GB, 2 WD Cavier 80GB
OCZ 600W PSU
DVD, DVD-RW, BD-ROM
ChrisX is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 10:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

To reset your cmos settings, open up your case and find the little round battery and take it out and leave it out for a few minutes and put it back in. Turn it on and see what happens. Also if you have the manual for your motherboard, it should tell you where the jumper is that can be used to reset your cmos. When you find that jumper, move it to the other position and return it back to the original position after a few seconds. That should get it running.
__________________

Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 10:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to ChrisX
Default

yes youre right there are clear cmos jumpers, ill try it, didnt want to risk doing anything else risky without being sure.
__________________
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black
Radeon HD 5770
Asus M4A79XTD EVO
4GB DDR3 1600
1 WD 230GB, 2 WD Cavier 80GB
OCZ 600W PSU
DVD, DVD-RW, BD-ROM
ChrisX is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 11:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to ChrisX
Default

yes that did the trick thx alot man, i suppose if i hadnt panicked i would have remembered that lol. But of course, thank you much.
__________________
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black
Radeon HD 5770
Asus M4A79XTD EVO
4GB DDR3 1600
1 WD 230GB, 2 WD Cavier 80GB
OCZ 600W PSU
DVD, DVD-RW, BD-ROM
ChrisX is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 11:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

no problem, thats what we are here for.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 06:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

similar thing happened to me recently. Makes you forget all about 'what you know' and just panic, happens to us all.
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 07:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

<3 CMOS.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.