Omg Help!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2006, 11:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 321
Default Omg Help!!

So i bought a x1900xtx today. I have a ASUS A8N-sli deluxe. My old setup was 2 6800gt's in sli. I turned the selector chip to one card, put it into the correct pci-e slot for 1 card, and when I start up I get no monitor signal. Everything starts up, but it will not give me any signal and obviously is not booting!! What should I do. I removed the battery to reset the cmos.... I checked all monitor cables and connections. Still nothing. HELP!!!
__________________

waytoosmall is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 11:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

have you tried booting with just one of the old 6600gt"s to see if one of thoes work? did you uninstall the drivers for the 6600gt's before putting in the ati?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 11:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 321
Default

Already sold the 6800, and did not unistall drivers for them before hand. But I get no signal at all. The monitor doesn't go to a black screen or anything.
waytoosmall is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 12:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

that card have a 6pin pci-e power connector did you connect the cable to it? if you did thenn your psu most likely cant handle it
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 12:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

you have another computer you can test the card in? have you tried booting from a boot disk? You are getting post beeps? recheck to make sure you got the selector chip right. it says in the manual to make sure it clicks down. In bios did you change sli from auto? how did you reset bios? battery or jumpers?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 12:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jeremy
that card have a 6pin pci-e power connector did you connect the cable to it? if you did thenn your psu most likely cant handle it
if he was running sli before the psu should have no problem. but make sure you connected the extra power to the vid card. usually though you will get an error message if you did not.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 12:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 321
Default

Okay, power is connected. PSU is antec truepower 550. No beeps, can't change bios cause can't get any screen. Reset battery and haven't touched any jumpers because it does not instruct to in the manual....
waytoosmall is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 12:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

check page 2-17 of the manual if it is the same as my manual.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 12:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

ps when i was asking about bios changes I was refering to prior to the new video card. Just seeing what changes you had made to bios before. sorry for the misunderstanding. I know you cant get in now.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 12:19 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 321
Default

Okay, i took everything out and reinstalled and now I'm in, but my sound blaster audigy gamer zs now doesn't work.... Does it ever end???
__________________

waytoosmall is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.