Old member...New build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2010, 10:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Exclamation Old member...New build

Hey guys. I haven't been around here in a few years (I used to have thousands of posts but they've disappeared oh nooooo)...don't recognize many names anymore. Only one I really recognize is Trotter (congrats on admin...love the new site). Anyways...I'm building a computer and i was wondering if you guys could weigh in on it. I'm wanting it to be a powerhouse that's going to last me 4-5 years. I'm trying to stay under $1800 or so.

Case ($54.98): Rosewill Wind Knight Gaming ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Link

Processor ($598.98): Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W - Link

Mobo ($232.98): ASUS P6T LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard - Link

RAM($139.99): OCZ Gold Tri Channel 6GB PC10666 DDR3 Memory - 1333MHz, 6144MB (3 x 2048) - Link

SSHDD($89.99): OCZ Vertex Series OCZSSD2 30GB - Link

HDD($199.98): 2 x Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA - Link

GPU($169.99): XFX HD-577A-ZNFC Radeon HD 5770 (Juniper XT) 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card - Link

PSU($49.99): OCZ ModXStream Pro OCZ600MXSP 600W ATX12V V2.2 - Link

BluRay Drive($68.97): LITE-ON Black Blu-ray Reader Model iHOS104-06 - Link

DVDRW($55.98): Sony Optiarc Black 2MB Cache SATA DVD/CD Rewritable Drive - Link

CF Reader($19.99): Nippon Labs Delux 3.5" Internal All In One Card Reader/Writer with USB2.0 & eSATA Ports Model ICR-BB - Link

Thermal Paste($8.48): Arctic Silver Ceramique Thermal Compound - Link

Total price = $1,682.30

I'm planning on using the SSD as my OS disk (Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit) and the 2, 1 TB drives in raid 0 as my data disk. I'm also planning on buying two of these for a dual monitor setup.

I'm not going to be doing all that much gaming, but I need a quality GPU to support the high resolutions I want + 3 video outputs. I do a lot of photo and a little video editing.

Thanks!

EDIT: Sorry, forgot to mention that all these prices are after rebates/shipping, etc
__________________

__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 02-21-2010, 11:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,666
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Old member...New build

Go with the i7 920 instead of the 960, it's cheaper and it'll overclock high enough to manage anything you want to throw at it.

Also, you might want to get a slightly better psu. Just not sure exactly how reliable that particular model is.
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 02-21-2010, 11:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: Old member...New build

Or you could wait and get an i7 930. Those should be out within about a week I think. Fry's has them and sold a few, but I guess Intel yelled at em and told them to stop because I heard that a couple people that just tried to buy some got turned down even though they had them in stock.

I think other places will be selling them by the end of this month.
__________________
EVGA E758 A1 | Core i7 920 @ 4ghz | 6GB DDR3 1600 OCZ Gold | XFX 6870 CF | Corsair TX850 | Cooler Master HAF 932 | Water Cooled
Burn is offline  
Old 02-21-2010, 11:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dirkpitt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 755
Default Re: Old member...New build

Never heard of the artic silver ceramic stuff. Is there really much point in using it with the stock cooler?

EDIT: Isn't the 930 still going to be 45nm? Why get that instead of the 920?
__________________
dirkpitt45 is offline  
Old 02-21-2010, 11:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,666
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Old member...New build

^apparently it'll have a higher stock speed, and will retail for about the same price. Also, I don't think it's known yet if it's 32nm or 45nm.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 02-22-2010, 12:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Old member...New build

Good to see you back around. Thanks for the congrats. Not sure about the post thing unless they were in OT before we removed it from post counts.

Get TX-2 instead of the Artic Silver.

OCZ PSUs are solid, so no worries there.

Go with the 920 or 930 and put the money saved toward a better GFX card, like a 5870.

Forget using RAID. Just make the disks D: and E: and go with it. Raid can and will seriously screw you over if/when a disk fails on you. If you want 2TB, just go with a Samsung Spinpoint F3.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-22-2010, 10:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default Re: Old member...New build

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burn View Post
Or you could wait and get an i7 930. Those should be out within about a week I think.
Yea thats a good idea. I think I'll do that and just OC it. Any idea how expensive it'll be?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Forget using RAID. Just make the disks D: and E: and go with it. Raid can and will seriously screw you over if/when a disk fails on you. If you want 2TB, just go with a Samsung Spinpoint F3.
I was planning on doing RAID1 or 3 for the redundancy. I've had too many drives crap out on me and I'm too lazy to backup every so often .

Thanks!
__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 02-22-2010, 01:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default Re: Old member...New build

Ok, I've decided to go with the i7-930 and I figured out I needed to upgrade my PSU cause I was drawing close to 600W with just the stuff I'm buying and I want to future proof a little: Newegg.com - OCZ GameXStream OCZ850GXSSLI ATX12V v2.2 and EPS12V 850Watts Power Supply 100 - 240 V CB, CE, CSA, UL - Power Supplies

Also, if I get the 850W, I'll be loading it at around 70% which will be much more efficient than loading it at 100% therefore saving me money in the long run! yay.

I'm also thinking about changing up the case. Any that you guys like?
__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 02-22-2010, 04:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Old member...New build

how did you figure 600w?

a psu like this
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies
should easily be able to handle that rig with room for expansion.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 02-22-2010, 04:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default Re: Old member...New build

the video card is 450W and the processor is 130W. But, I want to get a 256 bit video card. I need it to have 2 DVI outputs and 1 HDMI. And be reasonably priced. Any recommendations?

EDIT:I'm thinking this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102856

Also, I think I was doing those wattage calculations wrong

EDIT EDIT: Why is this $100 cheaper, but it looks like the specs are about the same: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814161302
__________________

__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$1000 CAD Build xxfirexx New Systems | Building and Buying 15 03-12-2009 05:00 PM
Windows 7 Build 7000 Beta Review KSoD Official TF Reviews 11 02-15-2009 01:33 PM
First PC build, any help appreciated. relapserebel System Upgrades 16 01-29-2009 01:02 PM
First post - First build - HT/Media/Multi-Task Build Reco's? delirium330 New Systems | Building and Buying 60 01-12-2009 03:07 PM
Can I build a decent PC for $300-$400 for a family member? King$nake New Systems | Building and Buying 18 01-05-2009 11:48 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.