Old Case - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2013, 01:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
xMalcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 407
Send a message via AIM to xMalcom Send a message via Skype™ to xMalcom
Default Old Case

I have a desktop computer that I'm using right now. It's an E machine ET1161-05. i was wondering does anyone know what the Form Factor is like if it's nini atx or standard ATX cause im interested in updating the computer
__________________

xMalcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 01:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Old Case

It's an mATX form factor. That motherboard will fit in any mATX /ATX tower or desktop case. Depending on what you plan to update you might be better off just upgrading all the components instead.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 01:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: Old Case

+1

I did that a long time ago, and it ended up costing more in the long run than just saving up and building a whole new system.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 02:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
xMalcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 407
Send a message via AIM to xMalcom Send a message via Skype™ to xMalcom
Default Re: Old Case

So if i found a Micro ATX Board i would be able to use that board?
xMalcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 02:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Old Case

Yes, but upgrading your motherboard on that PC is kind of pointless.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
xMalcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 407
Send a message via AIM to xMalcom Send a message via Skype™ to xMalcom
Default Re: Old Case

I was Going to Tear everything out and just use the case. Replace Evreything
xMalcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Old Case

I would just replace the case too. You can get some good cheap ones for 30-50 bucks.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
xMalcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 407
Send a message via AIM to xMalcom Send a message via Skype™ to xMalcom
Default Re: Old Case

Ok Thank's a lot I've been on Tiger direct looking at parts
xMalcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Old Case

If you don't have one next to you where you can save on shipping I suggest using newegg.com instead.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
xMalcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 407
Send a message via AIM to xMalcom Send a message via Skype™ to xMalcom
Default Re: Old Case

Ok Thank's
__________________

xMalcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.