Okay guys so I'm in a dilema...? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2007, 03:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Okay guys so I'm in a dilema...?

So I'm going to try to keep this brief. I was at fry's today and i bought this good deal on a phenom motherboard and CPU combo. It was $239 with tax an everything and i got these two:

Newegg.com - AMD Phenom 9500 Agena 2.2GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 2MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 95W Quad-Core Processor - Retail

Newegg.com - ECS A770M-A AM2+/AM2 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

now the question is should i sell them on ebay separately and make more money off of them? or should i just keep them and use them and just sell of my 6400 black edition and my biostar mobo? What would you guys do?

EDIT: My original plan was to just wait for the newer phenoms to come out later and just buy an 8800gt 256mb for now before I go quad core, but it's tempting not to use the phenom lol.
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 03:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: Okay guys so I'm in a dilema...?

uh oh. I heard ECS sucks :/
__________________

__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 03:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Okay guys so I'm in a dilema...?

Sell them both, or sell the board and drop the cpu into your current mobo. It should work But im not sure if itll be more powerfull than youir cd'd cpu due to the tlb bug.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 03:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Okay guys so I'm in a dilema...?

sell your 6400+ and that ECS board, and drop in the Phenom.. but sometimes I hear that the Phenom gets outperformed by their 6400+


or you can give me the ECS Board for my AM2 build?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 06:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Okay guys so I'm in a dilema...?

Fire up the Phenom and the new board and see what you get.

If nothing else, sell the 6400 and buy a new board, then sell the ECS.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 07:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Okay guys so I'm in a dilema...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Fire up the Phenom and the new board and see what you get.

If nothing else, sell the 6400 and buy a new board, then sell the ECS.
no!! give it to me!! the ECS
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 07:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Okay guys so I'm in a dilema...?

your 6400 will likely perform better in most cases. unless you can overclock the snot out of that phenom. which, with that mobo is unlikely. but, you never know till you try dude. my abit nf4 ultra everyone told me i was nuts to get, wouldn't overclock blah blah blah...i got it to about 300 HTT. which is almost as high as my evga that cost 4 times as much.
give it a shot.
also, TLB bug has nothing to do with the "power" of the chip. it has to do with the loading of the cores. the 6400 wont be more powerful than the phenom because of the TLB bug, it will be more powerful because it runs at 3.4ghz while the phenom runs at 2.3, plus it has more cache.
so, unless you are using a program that uses more than both the 3.4ghz cores can handle (not likely), the 6400 should perform better (ie be "faster").
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 11:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Re: Okay guys so I'm in a dilema...?

ok so i posted it on ebay with a starting bid of $235, if it doesnt sell then I'm goign to fire it up and just sell the mobo, then if the mobo doesnt sell then im going to just use it and try to sell my biostar mobo and x2 6400.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 11:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Re: Okay guys so I'm in a dilema...?

lol alright so just for the **** of it i posted all 4 of my compnents, the 2 cpu's and the 2 mobos on ebay. So right now someone bid $55 for the ECS mobo, and someone bid $130 for my x2 6400. So if the phenom doesn't sell, then I'll just keep it and use it with my tforce mobo, but we'll see how it goes. I have a feeling that the x2 6400 cpu will sell for more though because its only a 5 day listing and today was the first day and i already have 4 bidders lol.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 12:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
TY, May I have another?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 628
Default Re: Okay guys so I'm in a dilema...?

what happens if all four sell?
__________________

__________________
Intel e6750 @ 3.2ghz
4GB Gskill HZ's @ 1066, 5-5-5-14
XFX GTX 260
EVGA 680i
Lian Li Pc-A05
TRUE Black Edition, lapped to almost mirror finish.
SHaTTaFaKKaP is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me out Guys! New Gaming Computer! JDM555 New Systems | Building and Buying 85 02-04-2008 09:17 PM
What do you guys think of this? (Kinda long) MetalOwns Off Topic Discussion 12 10-11-2007 11:50 PM
do guys have an extra pentium 4 socket 775 lying aroud siddanth3 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 9 06-15-2007 11:34 AM
What do you think guys? Future plans Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 20 05-30-2007 04:25 PM
can you guys recommend a DVD player rookie1010 Off Topic Discussion 6 05-06-2007 07:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.