oh PSU god lend me your wisdom~ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2005, 01:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default oh PSU gods lend me your wisdom~

OK I don't know how much a wattage an average device uses and my case is rather.. overdone with drives so :/

just wondering how much wattage/voltage do these things pull on average and what PSU you'd recommend (budget minded)

MY current PSU's stats are
voltage 130/230V +3.3 32A ,+5 40A ,+12 24A
current 10A/5A -12 1.0A , -5 0.5A, +5sb 2.0A
frequency 60/50HZ

it has dual fans and is rather heafty

my setup currently is
two removable HDD racks (no drives in yet)
Liteon DVD+-R drive 8x max write
Liteon 16x DVD drive
seagate 20gb IDE 5200RPM Hard drive (OS)
maxtor 250GB IDE 7200RPM 8mb cache hard drive (data storage)
Maxtor 300 7200RPM 16mb cache (used for virtual drive images for my network computers and storage of anime)

socket 754 Nforce3 250 Mobo
sempron 64 2800+

Nvidia Geforce 440MX SE 128mb DDR

Firewire PCI card

PCI IDE 2 channel raid card

PCI slot video card cooler
3 fan 5.25 bay cooler (between the DVD-Roms to keep cool airflow and cool those hot suckers down!)

systemdoc 5 thermal monitor/fan controller
5 total 80mm case fans
__________________

kiyotaka is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 06:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

is the system unstable cos if it is then the psu might be the prob but if its stable then its fine
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 10:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

it seems stable. but i really don't trust the no name PSU.. n ever heard of "lead power" brand
kiyotaka is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 02:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Easiest way to find your answer is to monitor your 12v rail under load with a multimeter...if its under/overvolting by 5% or if its fluctuating like crazy it is not so good
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 04:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
Easiest way to find your answer is to monitor your 12v rail under load with a multimeter...if its under/overvolting by 5% or if its fluctuating like crazy it is not so good
Yeah, multimeters are cheap... like $19.00 - $30.00.

You just need to know how to properly use them... One mistake and pffff.... ahhhhhhhhhhhh what did i do?
HAVOC is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 04:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/
Ste is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 06:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

my digital doc 5 has one built in, 5v tends to run around 5.1-5.2
12v runs 12.09-12.29
kiyotaka is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 08:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Yes, I realize that there is software out there that can monitor your rails for you...however taking speedfan for example, they are not reliable...not even your bios voltage readings are neccesarily set in stone

The only 100% way to know what your voltage is looking like is to use a multimeter...software just simply isn't an accurate or reliable way to do it
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 08:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

For a DMM to be effective though you gotta know how to use it, and not shorting out anything, cause you gotta test Volts while computer is actualy on.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 10:52 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
Yes, I realize that there is software out there that can monitor your rails for you...however taking speedfan for example, they are not reliable...not even your bios voltage readings are neccesarily set in stone

The only 100% way to know what your voltage is looking like is to use a multimeter...software just simply isn't an accurate or reliable way to do it
the digital doc 5 is actually a 5.25 bay fan controller/temp moniter has a built in multimeter (not software end)
__________________

kiyotaka is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.