Oh NOOOO, e6750 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2007, 12:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 616
Send a message via AIM to OnlyCurious Send a message via Yahoo to OnlyCurious
Arrow Oh NOOOO, e6750

Just saw some website selling e6750... do you have to put THERMAL PASTE on the e6750???? I thought it was the sticky pad thingy on the cpu... I am afraid to do this(thermal paste if that is what I have to do).... very afraid. I will mess it up!!!

it gives options next to the e6750 purchase button so you can order a thermal paste with it... so I'm guessing you HAVE to use thermal paste???
__________________

__________________
Use my advice at your own risk.

My rig:
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
SamSung 20" LCD
Intel E6750 @ 2.66Ghz
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
Patriot Extreme 2gb 4-4-4-12
Sapphire X1950XT 256mb
Samsung 500gb @ 7200
PSU Xclio GreatPower 550W
Samsung DVD Burner
Logitec X-230 2.1
OnlyCurious is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 01:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Oh NOOOO, e6750

If you want low temps, you have to use the thermal paste. Retail CPU's come with the heatsink with a thermal layer applied. But if you really want a low temperature, you must do the thermal paste application yourself. Anyways, what wrong with doing it yourself.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 01:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 616
Send a message via AIM to OnlyCurious Send a message via Yahoo to OnlyCurious
Default Re: Oh NOOOO, e6750

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
If you want low temps, you have to use the thermal paste. Retail CPU's come with the heatsink with a thermal layer applied. But if you really want a low temperature, you must do the thermal paste application yourself. Anyways, what wrong with doing it yourself.
Just scared that I might apply too much or too little... and then destroy the cpu in the long run... or as soon as I turn it on b/c is overflows or w/e..
__________________
Use my advice at your own risk.

My rig:
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
SamSung 20" LCD
Intel E6750 @ 2.66Ghz
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
Patriot Extreme 2gb 4-4-4-12
Sapphire X1950XT 256mb
Samsung 500gb @ 7200
PSU Xclio GreatPower 550W
Samsung DVD Burner
Logitec X-230 2.1
OnlyCurious is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 01:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Oh NOOOO, e6750

get an arctic freezer, no paste, pad, and easy to install
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 01:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 616
Send a message via AIM to OnlyCurious Send a message via Yahoo to OnlyCurious
Default Re: Oh NOOOO, e6750

Quote:
Originally Posted by AP4LIFETN View Post
get an arctic freezer, no paste, pad, and easy to install
Are you guys suggesting this with the stock cooler that I'll be using that comes with the processor.... because I don't have a aftermarket cooler... I won't have one for a while.

edit: just saw artic freezer on newegg... so you're suggesting I get aftermarket cooler,right?
__________________
Use my advice at your own risk.

My rig:
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
SamSung 20" LCD
Intel E6750 @ 2.66Ghz
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
Patriot Extreme 2gb 4-4-4-12
Sapphire X1950XT 256mb
Samsung 500gb @ 7200
PSU Xclio GreatPower 550W
Samsung DVD Burner
Logitec X-230 2.1
OnlyCurious is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 01:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Oh NOOOO, e6750

Yes, he is referring to the Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 7 heatsink.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 01:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 616
Send a message via AIM to OnlyCurious Send a message via Yahoo to OnlyCurious
Default Re: Oh NOOOO, e6750

Are the thermal layer/compound permanent? I wouldn't think so... but isn't it hard to take the cooler off once it is applied? Seems like it would damage the components while trying to take it off...
__________________
Use my advice at your own risk.

My rig:
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
SamSung 20" LCD
Intel E6750 @ 2.66Ghz
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
Patriot Extreme 2gb 4-4-4-12
Sapphire X1950XT 256mb
Samsung 500gb @ 7200
PSU Xclio GreatPower 550W
Samsung DVD Burner
Logitec X-230 2.1
OnlyCurious is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 01:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 69
Default Re: Oh NOOOO, e6750

That website (Mwave.com: Home Page) listed thermal paste as an option for all its processors. It might not be a case where the e6750 needs it.
nylax4 is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 01:39 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: Oh NOOOO, e6750

From my understanding (which is little), thermal paste, while cooling better then most thermal pads (exp stock cooler pads) do not last as long as the pads. Also I thought the pads over time form a almost bond to the processor making them hard to remove.

But I remember reading an article (here i think) that the thermal pad that comes with the Artic Freezer Pro out performed most thermal pastes.

And, just because they are selling the paste next to the processor doesn't mean you need it. I would think it would come with a stock thermal pad.

Please correct me.

Edit: And on an OT note, looks like the prices are right in line with what we were predicting, $195. That made me happy
__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 01:41 AM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Oh NOOOO, e6750

Quote:
Originally Posted by OnlyCurious View Post
Are the thermal layer/compound permanent? I wouldn't think so... but isn't it hard to take the cooler off once it is applied? Seems like it would damage the components while trying to take it off...
First off, stop being a scaredy-cat. Second, thermal paste isn't permanent. It's not hard to take off once applied, texture and stickiness is like peanut butter. Third, you're not going to damage the CPU that easily. You know how to apply TP right?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ultimate Overclocking C2D e6750 OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 7 07-20-2007 01:04 AM
How much will the e6750 cost? veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-29-2007 05:03 PM
E6750 benchmarks !!! maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 27 06-26-2007 09:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.