Oh God I have no idea what im doing - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2012, 12:48 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 10
Default Re: Oh God I have no idea what im doing

Ah I see, thanks for clearing that up about rep/moderated posts.

I'm actually based in the UK and I've heard eBuyer is a decent site to get parts, cheap and reliable (or so i've heard).

Well mainly I'm looking for good enough specs to stream league of legends in 720p as I don't currently have an xSplit license, I only stream for fun but it will be nice to upgrade too and my birthday is coming up (hooray), I know I sound like a brat saying this but it's really hard to play games not max graphics, and when you have friends like mine you never hear the end of the ribbing I get with load times.

Could you recommend which parts you think I should upgrade? I didn't really understand when you said 'On that note, if you are going to upgrade to the FX then you will most likely need a new motherboard as well.' but then said 'I really don't think your CPU is holding you back too much despite lack of GPU power. '

Sorry for the constant questions, I'm a newbie when it comes to this stuff, I just don't want to spend money where it's not neccessary, you know?

Anyway, thank you all for helping out and answering my constant stream of questions, I'd +rep if I could! But for now I'll give you a warm thanks and your help is greatly appreciated.
__________________

Do You Even Lift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 01:33 AM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: Oh God I have no idea what im doing

Ah ok, maybe it's because I'm sick but I thought you said Amazon :P

Getting new RAM/CPU wont help in the loading times. That is strictly based on the speed of your HDD. I'm guessing they have SSDs, and that is the only way you can speed up your loading times. What RAM/CPU will do is release any bottleneck your CPU might be anywhere else. The FX 4100 is a good upgrade, but what I was saying is your GPU is quite weak as well.

As for streaming, you can use Xfire for that IIRC. I remember one of their bigger updates was for some form of game stream.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 01:49 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 10
Default Re: Oh God I have no idea what im doing



I'm a little confused, I'm trying to search for a new GPU, which is apparently a 'Graphics Processing Unit' but I can't find anywhere to buy one, and everytime I search for something relating to GPU the results consist of questions about Graphics Cards, then when I check Wikipedia it says 'not to be confused with graphics card'
Do You Even Lift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 02:01 AM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: Oh God I have no idea what im doing

A GPU is the chip on a graphics card. If you are on eBuyer.com then just hover over components and click on AMD or Nvidia graphics cards link. What is your budget for the card itself?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 02:04 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 10
Default Re: Oh God I have no idea what im doing

Well I can spend up to £120 on a card possibly could stretch a little if it's worth it, I'm really not fussed with loading times as long as the game itself runs smoothly at high fps.
Do You Even Lift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 12:39 PM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: Oh God I have no idea what im doing

Since you are getting a better PSU then you could get this card.
Gigabyte GTX 550 Ti 1GB GDDR5 DVI HDMI FAN PCI-E.. | Ebuyer.com

Would be a good upgrade from your current 6770 and still within budget.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WD is God MindoverMaster Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 17 05-20-2010 12:28 PM
Oh My God! Thank You! andrewsvalesen New Systems | Building and Buying 14 11-12-2007 06:37 PM
thank god for that joshd Off Topic Discussion 20 06-12-2006 04:37 AM
oh god I'm going to faint this is a computer emergency if there ever was one oh god frollo Microsoft Windows and Software 16 01-27-2006 10:15 PM
Sm 3 Is God!!! play2lose PC Gaming 3 09-01-2004 11:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.