Oh Dell - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2006, 12:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 219
Default Oh Dell

I, before consulting the widom found on this site, became one of the Dell statistics. I purchase a Dell Dimmension 9100 about a year ago and I dropped a large sum of $1100 for the following system.

Processor - Intel P4 3.0 Ghz
Gpu - ATI X600 256 mb pci-e
Ram - 1 Gig pc 4200 samsung
dvd burner / cd burner combo
hd- 160 gig maxtor 7200 rpm
mobo- some dell peice of ****
psu - unknown

I guess aside from venting my anger at my stupidity, i was wondering if there is some way i can tell the wattage and make on my psu. wether it be a program or manually opening the case and reading some numbers. The reason for this is I plan on upgrading my weak GPU to a 7800gt or 6800 something. i am pretty sure Dell did not decide to be giving and throw in a 500 watt very nice psu. Also, if i need to buy a new one i was wondering if i need a special psu to be compatible with my dell case or if anyone will do?
any help is greatly apprecitated.

luke87 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 01:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905

The only way to check what wattage your PSU is to open your case open and look on the side of it, should tell you. It should be in the top left corner of your computer.

If I were you though, I wouldn't get a good card like a 7800gt if you have a Dell mobo. If Dell's anything like Hewlett Packard, their mobo's are s***. I'd upgrad to something lowish-end, like a 6600gt, or 9800pro or something. If you want a 7800gt, I'd say, get a new mobo too.

cyrax is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 01:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378

The PSU on my old Dimension 8200 (purchased in 2002) was 250 watts! That was with a Northwood and a GeForce 4600 Ti. My bet for your 9100 is 300 watts, tops.
ilovesocks is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 06:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350

O_o.. Get a new case, mobo, gpu, and power supply... Maybe subtract the case.
Kitire is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 07:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823

^^^thats what i did, bet decision of my LIFE, i replaced the mobo, psu, ram, and case, it is no longer a dell as a resul, and nor sh1t, and sold the stuff i took out on ebay, asa result, barly cost me a penny
harry18 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 11:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 219

well, i would prolly want a new cpu as i beleive mine is socket 6--. cant really remeber last 2 but i know first number is a 6. also i would like amd but i know that they do not suppport pc4200 yet so there is another 100 dolars i yould have to spebd, and buy that time i might as well by a new computer all together.....oh dell.
luke87 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 11:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823

^^well this is exactly the same dilema i had, and decied i didnt use my pc eneugh to justifly building a new one, but i have to say, replacing the mobo had a huge effect, it allowed more ram, it dosnt crash all the time i OCed my cpu by 600mhz, it soo good, and it barly cost a thing, that is what i wopuld recomend
harry18 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 03:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
HAVOC's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC

If you want to upgrade your GPU, i'd suggest the 7800GT.
And if you do go with the 7800GT, you might want to consider picking up a new PSU. PCP&C Silencer 470 for Dell Dimension 9100.

HAVOC is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 05:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi

oh, the woes of a Dell gamer.


<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb

Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 05:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312

You paid $1100 for that POS????

so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.