Office Computers - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-03-2013, 07:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Default Office Computers

Hi I am new here,

I need help coming up with a budget minded solution to sharing a program or syncing the specific programs information between 2 computers. Ideally I would like this done without the internet and third party programs. I have thought about maybe 2 monitors and 1 modem though I'd like them to work independently.

I work in a doctors office and we have a practice management program (input of patient information and insurance etc). What I would like is that if I made a change or added a new patient on 1, I would like it to also show up on the other.

Any ideas?

Thank you in advance.
__________________

Wetgeckos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 03:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
acerinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,839
Default Re: Office Computers

Does your office management software use a cache system - for dual or multi-users? If not, I bet you can contact the software company and they will sell you a update software package to use with your current software to link the 2 PC's so that you can use both PC's at the same time doing different thing and then at the end of the day - the cache ( or data) will show all work done.

Even my old office software ( so old it can only use win7 32 bit after the latest upgrade) does this easily.
__________________

acerinpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 03:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Default Re: Office Computers

Thank you for the reply!

Though ideally I would like the 2 comptuters to sync the patient info in real time. To work as one? c
Wetgeckos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 03:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
acerinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,839
Default Re: Office Computers

hmmm. i know that is possible , but would be above the software I use- like I said mine is really old, originally not even written in windows - but in Dos. I would contact the vender to see if that capability is in the system you have.
acerinpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 03:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Default Re: Office Computers

Yeah, I was thinking a network of some sort.

Thank you for help though!
Wetgeckos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 03:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Office Computers

IMO, a database would maybe be the best bet... but if the software you have can't interact with a DB, then you could always have a central server networked in and have the systems share the data off of that. Then you can always backup from 1 place (the server) to have a running / incremental backup in case data loss happens.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 04:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Default Re: Office Computers

I am not a techie of any sort so "network" is the only thing I can come up with to describe what I'm thinking.

A data base or central server may, but both I would need to do some researching a bit. But I appreciate the insights!
Wetgeckos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 04:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Office Computers

Well, depending on how the software runs / uses the data records, IMO a database would be the best thing to have implemented. That way the changes are real-time/immediate and the database would handle deadlocks on the data more effeciently (a deadlock is if 2 or more systems try to interact with the same data; e.g. if both of your systems try to write data for the same patient at the exact same time... unlikely but possible).
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.