OEM CD/DVD Burner - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2006, 06:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to bryanp0286
Default OEM CD/DVD Burner

I bought an OEM Lite-on cd/dvd burner to go with a computer I'm building for my girlfriend.... does it HAVE to be hooked to the motherboard? Obviously since it's OEM it didn't come with any cables. If it is required to be hooked up to the mobo, does newegg sell the cables?
__________________

__________________
Dell Inspiron 1501 Laptop
AMD Athlon Mobile TK-55 Dual Core 1.8 GHz
2GB DDR2 Memory
120GB HDD
Windows XP Home Edition
bryanp0286 is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 06:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

your mobo should have come with the ide cable
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 09:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Space Ninja Pirate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 586
Default

Like Nos said, you shoudl have one with the mobo, at least I rarely have heard of a mobo that did not come with at least one IDE.
__________________
TheDiceman is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 09:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

40-conductor IDE cable of motherboard. you'll find too many lying around. if you dont have spare one.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 01:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to bryanp0286
Default

I have the IDE cable.. on the back of the burner there are other hookups, I believe they say analog and digital, and on my motherboard there are jumpers for cd sound (cant tell for sure the exact name, im not at my house right now).
__________________
Dell Inspiron 1501 Laptop
AMD Athlon Mobile TK-55 Dual Core 1.8 GHz
2GB DDR2 Memory
120GB HDD
Windows XP Home Edition
bryanp0286 is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 03:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to vipercrazed Send a message via Yahoo to vipercrazed
Default

well if you want it to do more than open and close you need it hooked up, from what i remember just hook up the ide to any ide on the mobo and make it the primary slot in bios and your good

the mobo has the sound and stuff like that, not the drive, liek if you want to use the headphone jack on the sid eof the case the case has a wire you hook to your mobo
__________________

__________________
bfg tech 7900GT@475 still ll 3200+ venice@2.72, 1.55v ll OCZ 1GB ll WD 320 GB hdd
vipercrazed is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.