OCZ's 1Gb DDR600 Vs. 2Gb DDR 500 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: Which Movie To See?
Pan's Labyrinth 8 66.67%
Deja Vu 4 33.33%
Voters: 12. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2006, 10:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 197
Default

excellent feedback guys, cleared alot of things up for me.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
<font face="Symbol">™</font> 175 Opertan CPU
<font face="Symbol">™</font> WD Raptor 150gB
<font face="Symbol">™</font> WD Caviar 750gB
<font face="Symbol">™</font> OCZ DDR500 Plat 2gB
<font face="Symbol">™</font> DFI Lanparty nF4
<font face="Symbol">™</font> eVga 7950GT KO
<font face="Symbol">™</font> OCZ GamexStream 700w
<font face="Symbol">™</font> Big Typhoon Cooling
KlNGPlN is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 06:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I have the elites and will vouche for them, they are fast and if OCZ is still sticking TCCD ICs in them they are among the highest quality TCCDs you can get and stand a high chance of hitting the "ultimate" 300HTT 2.5-3-3-7 specs, and will be pretty competetive with DDR2 speed

If you have no idea what I'm talking about you will probably be more satisfied with the 2GB set
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 10:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 197
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
I have the elites and will vouche for them, they are fast and if OCZ is still sticking TCCD ICs in them they are among the highest quality TCCDs you can get and stand a high chance of hitting the "ultimate" 300HTT 2.5-3-3-7 specs, and will be pretty competetive with DDR2 speed

If you have no idea what I'm talking about you will probably be more satisfied with the 2GB set

thats what im saying, sounds good with the speed, how about this, can you tell me what i can do better with the 600's then the 500s and vise versa. I think that could help me with the pros and cons.
KlNGPlN is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 10:35 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

seriously, you need to be REALLY into overclocking to justify DDR600, 2GB DDR500 will do a lot more for you. good combination of bandwidth and capacity. it will serve well for gaming having 2GB and the bandwidth will be of benefit for things like video encoding.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 10:49 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KlNGPlN
thats what im saying, sounds good with the speed, how about this, can you tell me what i can do better with the 600's then the 500s and vise versa. I think that could help me with the pros and cons.

Simple.

600 is VERY fast while 500 is Above average fast.


My G.SKILL DDR500 can do 281 MHz, 3-4-4-8 2.6V

While Im sure 600 can go far above 300 Mhz.


I'd go with the 2 gb set honestly.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 12:31 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 197
Default

ok heres a good question where the heck do i purchase a ddr500. Newegg doesnt carry the OCZ anymore.
__________________
<font face="Symbol">™</font> 175 Opertan CPU
<font face="Symbol">™</font> WD Raptor 150gB
<font face="Symbol">™</font> WD Caviar 750gB
<font face="Symbol">™</font> OCZ DDR500 Plat 2gB
<font face="Symbol">™</font> DFI Lanparty nF4
<font face="Symbol">™</font> eVga 7950GT KO
<font face="Symbol">™</font> OCZ GamexStream 700w
<font face="Symbol">™</font> Big Typhoon Cooling
KlNGPlN is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 12:32 PM   #17 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

try going for g.kill... i had g.skill ddr 500 and i was able to take it up to ddr580
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 03:40 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KlNGPlN
yea but either way I see it I have to overclock in order to get any of them to work correctly
^ Anyone notice that?

RAM that is rated above 400MHz does NOT have to be overclocked in order to work correctly. RAM works just fine when it runs under its rated speed - the rated speed is just the limit to which the RAM is guaranteed to run.
__________________

__________________
ilovesocks is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.