OCZ's 1Gb DDR600 Vs. 2Gb DDR 500 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: Which Movie To See?
Pan's Labyrinth 8 66.67%
Deja Vu 4 33.33%
Voters: 12. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2006, 06:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 197
Default OCZ's 1Gb DDR600 Vs. 2Gb DDR 500

I seriously cant make up my mind between these two, its like speed vs. space and I know both are good and something I will need but I need to know which outweighs the other in pro's n con's. I tried to look up some information before creating this topic but couldnt really find anything.

Here is the 2 choices
2GB DDR500 OCZ Plat or Gold Edition Approx. $250
or
1GB DDR600 OCZ Elite Edition Approx $165

I have the DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D motherboard.

Hopefully I can get some good feedback regarding the pros and cons, why it would be worth it and why it wouldnt be worth it.

This is the final piece in my build and prob the most confusing.

so some help would be appreciated

ps. Thanks Nitestick for all the helpful information along the way.
__________________

KlNGPlN is offline  
Old 09-28-2006, 06:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

whoa there's a blast from the past.

quite simple really, unless you're an overclocker or have serious intentions of becoming one, neither. if you are an overclocker then 2GB of DDR500 would probably still serve you best. gaara and myself prefer the ultra high speed stuff. he has DDR600 and i'm working at getting my memory to run at 1:1 so DDR520. honestly most people are far better off with more memory than bandwidth
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-28-2006, 11:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 197
Default

yea but either way I see it I have to overclock in order to get any of them to work correctly, i mean I totally understand how the memory can be useful thats 1 whole extra gig. but hey I mean I prefer ultra high speed stuff to now, lol you and gaara arent the only ones. im going to do alot of video encoding (burning dvd music videos from avi into dvd format) and maybe start playing some games on the computer which i never did before, will the ddr600 be a big difference in bandwidth speeds when overclocked compaired to the ddr500? so big that it will make up for the 1GB difference or wont it is basically what im wondering.

leave aside that it might not be for you but only me stuff, lets get to the real deal.
KlNGPlN is offline  
Old 09-28-2006, 03:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 197
Default

what a site with a 1000 members and only nite is kind enough to give feedback?
__________________
<font face="Symbol">ª</font> 175 Opertan CPU
<font face="Symbol">ª</font> WD Raptor 150gB
<font face="Symbol">ª</font> WD Caviar 750gB
<font face="Symbol">ª</font> OCZ DDR500 Plat 2gB
<font face="Symbol">ª</font> DFI Lanparty nF4
<font face="Symbol">ª</font> eVga 7950GT KO
<font face="Symbol">ª</font> OCZ GamexStream 700w
<font face="Symbol">ª</font> Big Typhoon Cooling
KlNGPlN is offline  
Old 09-28-2006, 04:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

im thats 40000+ members and %90 are never on or never psoted.

but i agree with nitestick, you dont need DDR600 unless you plan to really overclock, plus 2gb is getting more of a need these days.

i vote the 2gb DDR500
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 09-28-2006, 04:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 261
Default

how about 2gb DDR600? seems like a no brainer.
wiouxev is offline  
Old 09-28-2006, 04:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

could you post some links for the ddr600?
thanks
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 09-28-2006, 04:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

i think you'd have troubles oc'ing to 300 mhz unless you had some pretty good cooling..

so i myself vote on 2 gigs of ddr500 because i doubt you'll use the full ddr 600 anyway, i ran on 2 gigs of ddr500 and it worked like a charm.. far better than running 1 gig, things ran much more smoothly
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-28-2006, 05:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

I vote for the 2 Gigs DDR500, because I run on DDR400 (3200) and I have never had a problem with bandwidth on my RAM, that and the 2 gigs gives you more power than 1 gig will.

Oh and alot of people never post or never have posted, which is why so few are posting here.
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 09-28-2006, 08:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
how about 2gb DDR600? seems like a no brainer.
do you know of a 2gb DDR600 kit? the highest performance memory is only available in 512MB or smaller sticks
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.