OCZ Timings - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: what next?
HDTV 0 0%
New Build 5 83.33%
Save/invest/wait for something else (please suggest what for) 0 0%
Other (please let me know in a comment) 1 16.67%
Voters: 6. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2006, 09:33 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

and what about the second links timings vs the 1sts?

#2 looks better to me but then again i am not an expert @ reading the timings and lat. on the sides of the RAM!
__________________

__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 09:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

I know there is another thread on this, but the second link's RAM is DDR400, while the first link's RAM is DDR500. DDR500 is faster, and the timings don't really matter all that much. The DDR400 (second link) may have tighter timings, but the DDR500 (first link) will outperform it.
__________________

__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 09:38 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

ok thanx on that...OPEN TO RIDICULE
__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 09:58 PM   #14 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

If you want to go all out, I will recommend the beast of all beasts. The PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 1KW EPS12V SLI, SSI Power Supply - Retail :http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817703003

Also, you may want a case with a side window, for that I'm going to recommend the Thermaltake Armor Series VA8000BWS Black Aluminum/Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Retail :http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811133154

or the aluminum version Thermaltake Armor VA8000SWA Silver Aluminum ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Retail :http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811133155

You may also want to get a DVD-ROM drive. I've heard of people burning out their DVD burners by only having that to install, use cds, etc. and not a DVD-ROM drive to do that stuff with.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 10:34 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

found a small error get a X-fi Xtreme Music and a Bose Headset lol

personally i would only get 2 150gb raptors raid 0+1 and back them up on a nice big 500GB Hd then if you want you can partition that and use the full 500GB

maybe a DFI SLI-DR instead but its your preference both are good but DFI tends to be put infront of MSI
reckliss is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 10:53 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

I can build a 2.8GHZ Opteron 165 machine for the same price as your 3 drives combined, I say this is a waste of money.

Your machine does not pay for itself, in about a year, the Conroe core will blow your machine into peices. Also the 7900GTX sli is also a bad choice seeing as to how it will nto support DX10 and the 8 series is already predicted to have much high performance than the 7900 series.

just my .02, but of coures, you seem to have lots of money, so it does not look like you care.

Oh and if you don't believe me, check this out:
http://techist.com/showthread.php?th...ghlight=conroe
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 11:05 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by reckliss
found a small error get a X-fi Xtreme Music and a Bose Headset lol

personally i would only get 2 150gb raptors raid 0+1 and back them up on a nice big 500GB Hd then if you want you can partition that and use the full 500GB

maybe a DFI SLI-DR instead but its your preference both are good but DFI tends to be put infront of MSI
I am inclined to question your reasoning behind your testimony...pleas elaborate on the MSI and DFI feud
__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 11:19 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RockyZ
I can build a 2.8GHZ Opteron 165 machine for the same price as your 3 drives combined, I say this is a waste of money.

Your machine does not pay for itself, in about a year, the Conroe core will blow your machine into peices. Also the 7900GTX sli is also a bad choice seeing as to how it will nto support DX10 and the 8 series is already predicted to have much high performance than the 7900 series.

just my .02, but of coures, you seem to have lots of money, so it does not look like you care.

Oh and if you don't believe me, check this out:
http://techist.com/showthread.php?th...ghlight=conroe
I see....hmmmm...well i jus scanned through the forum link u just gave me and i have to say im impressed! Even a Moderator got involved! I am still an AMD champ, have been for years. But this is very tempting! any news on the release date and pricerange for mid-highline procs?


and BTW it is not a waste of money! I have seen 10 of those raptors in action and its insane!!! the only wall i face is whether to get the more dependent 74GB or the attractive, expanding 150GB, what do you think? and if you disagree find me a good "RAIDworthy" set to support your claim.
__________________

__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.