OCZ Timings - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: what next?
HDTV 0 0%
New Build 5 83.33%
Save/invest/wait for something else (please suggest what for) 0 0%
Other (please let me know in a comment) 1 16.67%
Voters: 6. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2006, 11:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Exclamation OCZ Timings



I have everything down for my build except RAM. Here is my build as it currently stands, feel free to comment:

Antec Performance I P180 Silver ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
~$124.99

MSI K8N Diamond Plus Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI X16 ATX AMD Motherboard
~$189.99

2 eVGA Geforce 7900GTX 512MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card
~$529.00 each /$1,038.00 for both

PC Power & Cooling TURBO-COOL 850 SSI T85SSI SLI, EPS12V, SSI 850W Power Supply (not sure on this either, havent heard of this company before<<<<<< input?)
~$448.99

AMD Athlon 64 FX60 Toledo 2000MHz HT Socket 939 Dual Core Processor
~$1,015.00

3 Western Digital Raptor 150GB 10,000 RPM Serial ATA150 Hard Drive !OEM!(not sure on this<<<<)
~$274.99 each/ $824.97 for all 3

Acer AL2416Wd Silver 24" 6ms Widescreen LCD Monitor
~$829.99

LITE-ON 16X DVD¬ĪR DVD Burner W/ LightScribe and 5X DVD-RAM Write Black ATAPI/E-IDE !OEM!(not sure again<<<<<)
~$58.99

Subtotal before tax and shipping:$4,850.90

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

and here are the RAM choices:

OCZ Platinum Edition 2GB (2 x 1GB)

OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB)
__________________

__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 11:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 65
Default

why OCZ ? why not corsair ?

Just interested thats all
__________________

__________________
AMD 4200+ X2 OC 2.3Ghz
Club Nvidia 7800 GTX 256megs OC 540/1350
Asus A832n Delux MB
40 gig WD Raptor
300 gig WD Sata 2
3dmark2005 = 8652
leeslangley is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 03:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

if you pick from those 2 the first one is better
reckliss is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 02:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

OCZs timings are far superior to Corsair and Corsair "select" RAM, RAM utilities prefer OCZ to most AND OCZ is talking about adding ECC to their product line!!!!!
__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 02:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

BTW leeslangley nice 3D mark!!! but....when i finish my build it will BLOW yours out of the water!! **will post when finished!**
__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 03:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Get some G.SKILL ddr500 or OCZ DDR500 and OC that FX60....


Btw evreything on the build looks good....the OEM Hardrives and Disc reader are fine.....

Id like to let you know one thing....your spending 4 grand on this PC, I Highly suggest you wait for Intel conroes to come out, get the EE of those, and you will have one **** of a pc....


Its one thing when your buying a 1600 dollar pc, but with your money, I guarentee youd be better off waiting...

NO this is not "the waiting game"


its your choice...but im pretty sure all the regulars here at TF will agree with me.....start getting ready for Conroe...its going to UBER FAST

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 04:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

pc power and cooling make the best psu's on the market

end of story
__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 04:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

what are you building this computer for

holy ****
__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 06:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

Someone definitely has some cash to throw around. Since it's so close to the release of AM2 and Conroe, i would wait a little while and check those out. Plus by that time 939 prices will have dropped, and if you aren't impressed by the new chips you can get your system for much cheaper.

With the ram, go for the Platinum Edition DDR500 (first link), it's better than the second link you posted.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 09:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tehdigit
what are you building this computer for

holy ****
LMAO! you like? and thank you for the information about my PSU, jus havent ran in to those guys yet and didnt know if it was a hoax.

Oh and BTW you guys...i am making a 4-5k build b/c in the long run it will pay for itself. See, the way i figure it is this...while all you are upgrading and upgrading as you will, i can sit back on my 4GB RAM, screaming HDDs, kickass CPU, and duely 7900 GTXs! And i am also starting the air force and want a strong comp for a future, fast growing career. AND ALSO who can forget World of Warcraft and Call of Duity 2 at full specs, not to mention Halo 3 in the future...please if you find the smallest error in my build PLEASE consult me, I am attempting to make what i think is the biggest TF build this season!!! watch me work!

p.s. what speed are we talkin about w/ this "Conroe" chip? what about its L1, L2, FSB, core, and any other wild **** Intel throws into it. Personaly i have always been an AMD man and the FX-60 is lookin mighty dandy right now!
__________________

__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.