ocz or g skill hz? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-17-2007, 09:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default ocz or g skill hz?

I live in Hong Kong and they don't have crucial ballistix nor patriot extreme RAM so i need to know which 1 is better.
__________________

__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 09:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 145
Default Re: ocz or g skill hz?

I would go with g.skill for sure, better reviews and overall better RAM.
__________________

__________________
http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q...igns/pcsig.jpg
xfire:nhlrocker
msn:cave_daniel@hotmail.com
3DMark05:14,880
aquamark score:133,352 :)
nhlrocker is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 09:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: ocz or g skill hz?

G.Skill 800 HZ black, best out thier especially for overclocking~!
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 09:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: ocz or g skill hz?

G.Skill
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 10:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: ocz or g skill hz?

wow thanks for the reply and i'll try to buy them soon as i ask my parents for it.
__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 10:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: ocz or g skill hz?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deadpixel View Post
G.Skill 800 HZ black, best out thier especially for overclocking~!
lol did i get the only crappy set of HZ ever made or what>,<?!?!
i can overclock a palm pilot farther than the set i have.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 10:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: ocz or g skill hz?

I would personally go with G. skill, i have always used them and had no problems.
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 11:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: ocz or g skill hz?

hey nhlrocker i see that you have corsair xms2 so are they good? and the ram have to be ddr2 800 because my motherboard doesn't support 1066.
__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 11:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: ocz or g skill hz?

i have xms2 cas4 and yes they are good.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-18-2007, 01:19 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: ocz or g skill hz?

so would it be better to get the g skill hz or the corsair xms2?
__________________

__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2gb of crucial vs 4gb ocz gold. Poizen22 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 09-16-2007 12:50 AM
G skill hz RAM 800 or 1066? advancedgeek New Systems | Building and Buying 14 09-07-2007 01:27 AM
G skill RAM... advancedgeek New Systems | Building and Buying 1 06-21-2007 11:41 PM
g skill ram baron5 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 04-20-2007 08:40 PM
Amazing Skill Super L33T Oreo Off Topic Discussion 24 04-03-2007 07:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.