OCZ or Antect PSU?? or another? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2006, 08:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Default OCZ or Antect PSU?? or another?

OCZ or Antect PSU?? im torn between them. any other suggestions, im not paying for a PSC to much money!

OCZ PowerStream OCZ520ADJSLI ATX, BTX, SATA, P4 and EPS12V 520W Power Supply - Retail

and the

Antec TRUEPOWERII TPII-550 ATX12V 550W Power Supply - Retail

Chris
__________________

impulsebrklyn is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 08:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 303
Default

i would say antec, because it is the norm for people around theseforums. Also, it will last longer because of the higher wattage
__________________

__________________
Getting a new computer: specs coming soon...
KryptoKnight is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 09:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 213
Default

I would say OCZ because it is also BTX. Therefore if you wanna upgrade in the future you can still use your power supply.
klein1jo is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 09:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Lol BTX. Either one is a good choice. I'd go for whichever is cheaper.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 09:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

BTX is never going to be embraced by AMD so don't even consider BTX.


THey're both good brands but I'd go with Antec simply because I have experiance with their PSU's, and let me tell you, they are quality items.
septoid2 is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 09:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 213
Default

BTX is never gonna be accepted until BOOM, there it is. I don't know if they will or not. Frankly I hope it flops. But since the OCZ supports ATX and BTX why not be ready just in case. Just like why not buy an ATX/BTX case just in case cause if it happens that's one less thing to buy.
klein1jo is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 09:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

But if BTX does take over, would you go and buy the first BTX board you saw, even though your "old" ATX works just fine?
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 10:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 213
Default

Tu chez. I was just thinking that he could use the OCZ to power his ATX and have it later on if he wanted to switch to BTX. Would be one less thing for me to worry about later.
__________________

klein1jo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.