Octo cpu's? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2007, 01:26 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Octo cpu's?

Oh im not saying octo cores wont be useful, but not for at least another 2-3 years. Programmers are just now getting their feet wet with multi thread code. Once people actually make the switch to multicore cpu's yes it will become more common. Right now there are just too many lazy coders and single core processors still on the mainstream market. Quads are still mostly just an enthusiast platform. Also, nehalem will be a native quad core with onboard memory controller, not octo.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 02:35 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Octo cpu's?

is he talking about like Octo-FX is was a platform to be the successor of the Quad-FX Platform (u know two 7 series Athlon x2 FX's in the one board with the promise of 8 cores in the future with a Phenom that is dual Socket compatible)
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 02:53 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 131
Send a message via AIM to Durftard Send a message via MSN to Durftard
Default Re: Octo cpu's?

In its "largest configuration," Nehalem will pack eight CPU cores onto a single die. Each of those cores will present the system with two logical processors and be able to execute two threads via simultaneous multithreading (SMT)a la HyperThreading. So a single Nehalem chip will be able to execute 16 threads at once. Intel's Nehalem to feature eight cores, 16 threads - The Tech Report

We were puzzled with Intel's announcement and even the Executive VP Pat Gelsinger confirmed that the Nehalem 8 core is a native design. Fudzilla dug deeper into the story and learned that Intel can do native any variation of dual, quad or octo processor with its with Nehalem design. Fudzilla - Nehalem 8 cores is indeed native

Nehalem will launch with an eight core product in 2008, however each core will have two threads, making a total of 16 threads on a single CPU package. The design was completed just a few weeks ago and will feature 731 million transistors. bit-tech.net | Nehalem is up and running with 8 cores, 16 threads
__________________
MSI P6N Platinum SLI 650i
Cooler Master Stacker 830 SE
E2180 Core Duo @ 3.0Ghz (1.3vCore)+Stock HSF
2x 1GB G.skill @ 840Mhz 4-4-4-10-14
GeForce 8800 GTS 320 MB @ 655Mhz/1050Mhz
Samsung 19" SyncMaster 906BW
Corsair HX-520W
Durftard is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 03:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Octo cpu's?

Oh nifty. Didnt know nehalem was going to be 8core. Now i want one even more Just think of the 3dmark scores!
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 03:53 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 131
Send a message via AIM to Durftard Send a message via MSN to Durftard
Default Re: Octo cpu's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Oh nifty. Didnt know nehalem was going to be 8core. Now i want one even more Just think of the 3dmark scores!
Will Nehalem be LGA775? And any word what chipsets will be compatible with Nehalem?


EDIT: nvm bit-tech.net | Nehalem details spill through the Tubes
__________________
MSI P6N Platinum SLI 650i
Cooler Master Stacker 830 SE
E2180 Core Duo @ 3.0Ghz (1.3vCore)+Stock HSF
2x 1GB G.skill @ 840Mhz 4-4-4-10-14
GeForce 8800 GTS 320 MB @ 655Mhz/1050Mhz
Samsung 19" SyncMaster 906BW
Corsair HX-520W
Durftard is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 03:55 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Octo cpu's?

Nah its going to be a new chipset because of the onboard memory controller. I just hope DDR3 is reasonably priced by then because i highly doubt they'll bother with ddr2.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 04:52 PM   #17 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Octo cpu's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Nah its going to be a new chipset because of the onboard memory controller. I just hope DDR3 is reasonably priced by then because i highly doubt they'll bother with ddr2.
yeah, DDR3 is way overpriced. Crazy high. I wish I had the money I needed to stay on top of the game.
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 06:07 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Octo cpu's?

ddr3 isn't much better then ddr2 so its not worth the extra money yet
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 06:11 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Octo cpu's?

All this is under the envelope of varying TDPs of 90W, 105W and 130W and the chips use a new LGA socket with 1567 pins, Socket-LS.

The quad-core, "extreme" performance CPU codenamed Bloomfield, will be identical to the DP parts above, but will be single socket only and have a single QPI link. This will also be on socket LGA1366. It is suggested to have a 270mm² die size, about the same as current Kentsfield’s 65nm 286mm² die, but it’ll have nearly 150m more transistors at 731m.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel delay launch of 3 CPU's because AMD poses no threat Oreo Off Topic Discussion 8 12-20-2007 04:57 PM
How do I compare CPUs? Dual Core, Core 2 Duo, Quad Core... 706 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-05-2007 08:27 AM
New Processors.... CPU's..... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 8 11-30-2007 05:49 PM
CPU's joshuaplatz New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-29-2007 08:22 PM
Comparing cpu's under $100 Bankfishin New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-30-2007 04:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.