OCing PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2006, 10:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default OCing PC

Okay I've wanted to build a computer for Overclocking for a while.So I want it to AMD of coarse, Most likely Opteron Dual Core.2gb's of ram,I have a 250gb Sata that Iam gonna use.Iam gonna do same watercooling in my FX-57.Need huge case not quite sure,has to have a window,also lots of space inside.I have a general idea of what I want just wanted to get some suggestions.My budget is about $3500,but if it needs to be raised no problem just for performance.

CPU:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103584

Getting this MOBO:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136151

RAM:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231021

Case:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811112508
&
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811133153

PSU:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103932

GFX Cards: N' Sli
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130279
__________________

__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 10:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

Opteron 170
2 GB of G skill or OCZ ram
That mobo
7900 GTX 512
Thermaltake Armour!
Maybe water cooling or Zalman 9500
That will make a kick *** computer! If you want to spend all 3500, maybe get SLI.
__________________

__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 10:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

Yeah didnt notice that Mobo wasnt Sli.Yes Iam getting a watercooling Kit + my own custom performance touch's.Is it worth getting 7900gtx 512 in Sli or just 7900GTX 256mb in Sli.Not about price but if their is that much differant but they problay is.That is a nice case but I already have it LOL.I might just get it agian but still looking around for a case just as nice as that.
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 10:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

I like this case pretty nice and BIG!
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811112508
Has lots of room for water cooling also.
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 10:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811133153

try that case, has open side window, comes with 4 Fans, and is very BIG, has alot of room for upgrades and what not, and no screwdrivers or anything necessary, just click your stuff on.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 11:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

I like the Lian Li better becuase it has alot of space on the top and above the PSU.But that is a nice case that I might get just to have.
Pretty trick looking and sleek kinda like a subwoofer LOL.
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 11:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

they dont make a 7900 GTX in 256 MB flavor ...


or do they?
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 11:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

no they dont, i think the 7900 GTX needs more than 256mb doesn it, even if it doesnt, no they dont.

THe kandalf is the nicest case i have EVER seen, my uncle has it and filled it with the best shizz i have ever seen, 2 AMD processors, 7800 GTX, crazy stuff and it looks GREAT, the good thing about the Silver Kandalf, is its about half the weight of the Black Kandalf.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 11:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord AnthraX
they dont make a 7900 GTX in 256 MB flavor ...


or do they?
Wasnt sure.I kinda was thinking about the regular 7900gt like the one I have in my X2 comp.It was a brain Fart.
Who is flavor? LOL

[QUOTE]Originally posted by john3
no they dont, i think the 7900 GTX needs more than 256mb doesn it, even if it doesnt, no they dont.

THe kandalf is the nicest case i have EVER seen, my uncle has it and filled it with the best shizz i have ever seen, 2 AMD processors, 7800 GTX, crazy stuff and it looks GREAT, the good thing about the Silver Kandalf, is its about half the weight of the Black Kandalf.
[

Weight isnt really what Iam woried about.But that case is really nice looking so Iam gonna just buy both and see how they work out and then go from there.Plus its always good having a extra case laying around.
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 11:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fr34ky
Weight isnt really what Iam woried about.But that case is really nice looking so Iam gonna just buy both and see how they work out and then go from there.Plus its always good having a extra case laying around. [/B]
Wow you must be rich or something. . I want some of your richness
__________________

__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.