Ocing a labtop? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2005, 05:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 341
Default Ocing a laptop?

Is it possible to OC a processor in a labtop and add cooling devices to it?

Rich_Franklin is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 05:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH

yes but it would be pretty hard

AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 06:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman

And pointless. You would have to modify the laptop and add big heatsinks and it would be huge!
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 09:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to pcspecialist

Overclocking a laptop isn't "hard" if you have AMD and CPUid. Just download that and choose your multiplier and voltage. It has to do with PowerTrio with the Averatec's. Don't ask. But yes, I have an Averatec Laptop. XP 2000+ 256 MB 40G Hd, wireless internet... what else am I going to do with it...game? HAHA!!
Athlon XP 3200+
Corsair DDR 400 512 MB Ram
Seagate 160 GB 8MB HD
9 in 1 card reader
Lite On DVD∓RW/ drive
Sony 52x CD-Rom
Evga 128 MB 6600GT 8x AGP
pcspecialist is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 02:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
aj2003's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094

dont overclock it. Its gonna overheat and you the battery alot quicker. My laptops pentium mobile 1.5gig offen underclocks itself down to 500mhz to save power and heat. So obviously going the otherway would do the opposite.
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 03:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 327

u can overclock pcs without too much trouble...y dont u get one...
gimli of gloin is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 04:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359

don't.. laptops allready have Poor enough cooling as it is, Poor ventilation .lack of fans..

Laptops generally double as portable space heaters!

Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
kiyotaka is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.