Oc'ed Opteron 165 vs Fx-60 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2006, 08:07 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Green Radience
True Dat

An overclocked Opteron 165 will perform exactly like a stock FX-60 (which can't be overclocked much anyways).
ummmm....the fx-60 overclock like crazy. your almost guarenteed around 3.0ghz when you overclock one.
__________________

wtk pro l is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 08:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Lol, even a heavily overclocked 165 would last far beyond what anybody would keep a processor for. Mine is at 2.8GHz and I am keeping it until the next-gen intels.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 08:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Thats why Optys have such a good BANG FO YO BUK

I hope to get my opty at 2.6...I will be exceptionally happy with that

sorry....I was watching BET
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 06:15 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wtk pro l
ummmm....the fx-60 overclock like crazy. your almost guarenteed around 3.0ghz when you overclock one.
You might want to become more experienced before making such bold claims. The silicon used to make the processors is very much the same. The only difference between the Opteron 165 and FX60 is the clockspeeds that they run at. The FX60, at it's stock 2.6GHz, is such a hot processor that its frankly stupid to overclock it very much. 3.0Ghz is hard with a Opteron 165, not many get past the 2.8/2.9 mark. It was the same sad tale with the FX-55 and FX-57. So hmm...buy a $1011 processor that runs at 2.6GHz and overclocks to 2.8GHz...OR buy a $325 processor that runs at 1.8Ghz and overclocks to 2.8GHz.

Green Radience is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 06:44 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 84
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord AnthraX
Thats why Optys have such a good BANG FO YO BUK

I hope to get my opty at 2.6...
I wouldn't be a bit surprised if you easily reach 2.6. Of course, nothing is guaranteed when it comes to OC'ing.

What is your stepping?
__________________
- COOLER MASTER Wave Master TAC-T01-E1C Silver Case
- DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS = latest)
- AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Toledo 1GHz HT 2 x 1MB L2 Cache
- OCZ 2GB (2 X 1024) DDR (500) PC-4000 EL Gold Gamer Ext. XTC (OCZ5002048ELGEGXT-K)
- OCZ PowerStream OCZ520ADJSLI ATX, BTX, EPS12V 520W
- XFX Geforce 7900 GTX 512MB (665/1630)
- HITACHI Deskstar 7K80 80GB 3.5\" SATA 3.0Gb/s x 2 (RAID)
old_geekster50 is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 06:52 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

An Opteron is amazing, it can be overclocked to 3GHz fairly easily if ur experience, 003 got his to 2.85GHz on air cooling, just get soem Phase Change cooling, or Water cooled, or Peltier, and u can go past 3 GHz, no? but then again u need good ram, DDR500.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 07:14 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by john3
An Opteron is amazing, it can be overclocked to 3GHz fairly easily if ur experience, 003 got his to 2.85GHz on air cooling, just get soem Phase Change cooling, or Water cooled, or Peltier, and u can go past 3 GHz, no? but then again u need good ram, DDR500.

Err 3.0 GHz Easily...yeah if its a 180...

It all depends on the stepping and week.

003 has one of the best Wire management and Cooling Iv ever seen....CPU cooler is a Big box of coldness while his vid card and even Mobo are fitted with Copper...that guys got a serious cooling...


I agree opterons are nice and all...but with Socket 939 ending this year and AMD pulling the plugs on Socket 939's you better hurry if you want one....
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 09:52 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

You can easily ebay specific steppings of 165's that go 3.0GHZ+ the problem is getting it to 3.0GHZ. You need a nice motherboard and nice ram. Not to mention a very expensive cooling system.

I had an "ok" stepping of the Opteron 165 (I returned it), OCZ DDR500 Gold Edition ram, a pretty nice copper heatsink, and of course my POS motherboard, the An8-Sli from Abit. The opteron only hit 2.2 at 1:1. The motherboard refuses to run with a memory divider unless the FSB is at 200MHZ which basically kills the point of using a divider. It was a bit of a waste to buy another motherboard with Am2 out and Conroe around the corner, so I just returned the CPU.
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 04:10 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by john3
An Opteron is amazing, it can be overclocked to 3GHz fairly easily if ur experience, 003 got his to 2.85GHz on air cooling, just get soem Phase Change cooling, or Water cooled, or Peltier, and u can go past 3 GHz, no? but then again u need good ram, DDR500.
The cooling would cost more than the processor if you decide to go water or peltier. If you go phase change, the cooling is going to set you back around $1000 by itself, lol.
Spartan is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 05:08 AM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

do you two realise you have dug up a 3 month old thread?
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.