OC question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2007, 12:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: long beach, ca
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to azzyork
Default OC question

i am new at this OC stuff but i just wanted to know how much can i OC my cpu...
__________________

azzyork is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 12:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 330
Default Re: OC question

mid 3sish
__________________

__________________
CPU: e6320 W/ Zalman CNPS9700 @ 2.8
MOBO: MSI P6N PLATINUM
RAM: 2gigs G. Skill HZs
VID: EVGA 8800 GTS 640mb @ 625/1025
CASE: NZXT ZERO
HD: WD1600YS
PS: CORSAIR 520HX
MONITOR: CHIMEI 22in
OS: VISTA HOME PREMIUM 32bit
nerdygeek is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 12:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: OC question

Nobody can tell you how much you can OC your cpu. It is totally dependent on your chip, mobo, ram, and cooling. There are people on here that can help you reach the full potential of your chip and tell you how to do everything. My guess is you can probably hit 3.2-3.4 GHz. That is just a random guess based on the stuff in your sig.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 11:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: OC question

See my sig..
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 11:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: OC question

my g0 it at 3.6 right now so u could aim for that i guess.

the first thing u should do is up the cpu voltage in bios by .1
then up the fsb by 10 if it boots then up by 10 again. keep goin till u get to around 3.2 then leave it for a few days see how it goes. keep checkin ur temps as u oc too very important. when u get to 3.2 use a stress test program on ur cpu and she if it is stable.
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 12:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: OC question

What kind of temps are you getting at 3.6 with your tuniq? I tend to idle around 35 and load around 52 while gaming.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 03:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: OC question

Quote:
Originally Posted by kobe24 View Post
my g0 it at 3.6 right now so u could aim for that i guess.

the first thing u should do is up the cpu voltage in bios by .1
then up the fsb by 10 if it boots then up by 10 again. keep goin till u get to around 3.2 then leave it for a few days see how it goes. keep checkin ur temps as u oc too very important. when u get to 3.2 use a stress test program on ur cpu and she if it is stable.
might wanna update your sig??

nobody can tell you the potential of your overclock... you can always aim for something.. but your overclock depends on..... you CPU (you can always get a bad batch), RAM, Motherboard...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 03:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: OC question

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
See my sig..
Hey veedub, i have the same case and CPU as you... i was thinking about getting the thermalright 120 but i heard it was pretty big. do u still have enough room in your case with that to be able to install a fan in the side pannel? And also, could i expect better performance from this or water cooling?

lol sry i don't want to hijack this thread...
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 03:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: OC question

No theres not room for the side fan. But its not needed. I was debating on cutting off the top corner of a 120mm fan as thats the only part of the fan that actually hits the cooler, but even without a fan, the vent on the side still sucks in a good bit of air due to the huge top fan.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 04:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: OC question

I see... but the thing is, I wanted to install the side fan so I could push my GTX a little farther. Although I suppose I could always cut it like you said.

My GTX literally will not get any faster without better cooling. I can't even raise the core or memory clock one more MHz, otherwise 3D Mark 06 or any other 3D application for that matter freezes and I have to restart the the comp and lower the frequencies back to 655/1062
__________________

__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM
Question about Video Cards and Compiz Fusion aetherh4cker Linux and Open Source 4 07-19-2007 04:16 PM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM
Help me clear something up please(Fresh install of xp type question) jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-21-2007 06:38 PM
Case Fan Question Shafra Overclocking and Modding 10 04-18-2007 06:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.