OC q6600 G0 9x333 - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2008, 06:21 PM   #41 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: OC q6600 G0 9x333

Anyone have a clue? Temps are just fine, with very low 50's and high 40's.
__________________

__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 06:42 PM   #42 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: OC q6600 G0 9x333

Idle temps or load? I dont remember what cooler you had, but you can probably get away with 1.4v @ 3.6 then just adjust the voltage to get stable while watching temps.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 06:52 PM   #43 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: OC q6600 G0 9x333

that idle, right now im watchign a movie and my cores are: 45 50 46 49

Ill try that right now!
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 07:05 PM   #44 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: OC q6600 G0 9x333

Ok, it crashed, the best i got so far is 425x8 which is good enough i guess for me. My voltage is at 1.3825, though coretemp reads stock 1.3000v. My cores are this temp now: 56 54 48 49, but they jump around alot. core 1 and 2 jump from 52-59 and 52-56 respectively, while 3 and 4 stay about 48-50. I will start prime95.

400x9 got the cpu to post, then ram didnt, and crashed, even though ram was at 800. Then i tried ram at 960, same deal.
390x9 same thing.
380x9 booted completely, but crashed once i got to my desktop.
425x8 is so far good.



EDIT: 425x8 Crashed after 15 min of prime95. Temps were from 55-60 during prime95. Its now back at the 367x9. Guess my proc doesent like to go above 3.3ghz

Also my temps are higher than before. instead of 48-54, now its more like 50-57
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 01:34 AM   #45 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: OC q6600 G0 9x333

they are back down around 43-48 idle, probally becuase of the night cold air

So anyone have a clue of why it wont hit a higher oc?
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 08:01 AM   #46 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default Re: OC q6600 G0 9x333

Are you running the small ffts in Prime95? or the blend? Makes a big difference in how your temps go up, small stresses the cpu more. (aka means its more stable)
__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 11:18 AM   #47 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: OC q6600 G0 9x333

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twizted_3kgt View Post
Are you running the small ffts in Prime95? or the blend? Makes a big difference in how your temps go up, small stresses the cpu more. (aka means its more stable)
Relist your full setup, include all voltages also.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 12:16 PM   #48 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: OC q6600 G0 9x333

q6600 g0 at 3.3ghz 367x9 1.34375v
two gigs of ballistix at 918 (2.5 multi to fsb) at stock voltage
idle temps now are mid 40's, will start the small ffts soon.
Its stable so far, been gaming for ten hours on cod4.
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 03:18 PM   #49 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: OC q6600 G0 9x333

If you still want to try for 3.6ghz....
set the cpu voltage to 1.4v
set the memory multi to 2.0
set the fsb to 9x400
Also, make sure that you have the proper voltage settings for your memory, you didnt say what memory you are using or which board.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 03:22 PM   #50 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: OC q6600 G0 9x333

its still a p35 ds3r with ballistix 800. I think my board is making it 1.8v, and ballistix is rated at 2.2v, so i should do the +4 option in the bios?
__________________

__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
Q6600: G0 Stepping vs B3 Stepping 96z28 New Systems | Building and Buying 17 02-26-2008 12:45 PM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM
Cheapest Q6600 Build Gumbercules New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-01-2007 01:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.