OC q6600 G0 9x333 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2008, 11:03 PM   #11 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: OC q6600 G0 9x333

ok, i went into my bios, and the multiplyer was 9, like expected, but the mhz clock was 200, not 266. Was I looking at the wrong thing? this is under CPU Host Frequency(MHz)
__________________

__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 12:43 AM   #12 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: OC q6600 G0 9x333

when you applied the acfp, i hope you didnt remove the thermal pad on it since they provide you with mx-1 paste which is really good.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 12:57 AM   #13 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: OC q6600 G0 9x333

no, i removed the stock heatsinks left over residue, and kept on the af7's paste as the new paste.

So do you know why the mhz clock was at 200 not 266 like it should be?
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 01:55 AM   #14 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: OC q6600 G0 9x333

Ok, i bumped the 200 (was supposed to be 266) up to 333, and so far so good.
Coretemp reads 3.0ghz!! Im still only hitting mid 40's as well! Would it be wise to go higher? (Im about to run an all night prime95)
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 02:04 AM   #15 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: OC q6600 G0 9x333

if you can get a better heat sink liek a tuniq tower or thermalright 120 you will be able to go much farther, ontop of that you can lapp it, you will reach 3.6ghz easaly, with another heatsink, if i where you id go for 3.4ghz, with yoru current heatsink fan, your fine till about 75c at load.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 02:07 AM   #16 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: OC q6600 G0 9x333

i want to go to 3.2, do i have to change any voltages or anything at all other than just rebump up the 333 to 356? or should i make it 400 with 8x multiplyer?

also, just 3dmark06ed, and went from 10111 to 10573. I was hoping for a higher score, and hopefully my 8800gt will increase that when i get it(i will oc with rivatuner probally)
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 02:10 AM   #17 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: OC q6600 G0 9x333

try the fsb you want, with out voltage bump, if it wont boot, or run stable thru 3dmark 06 try a vcore boost, and then retest once your 3dmark 06 stable do your prime 95 testing, or smp folding.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 02:24 AM   #18 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: OC q6600 G0 9x333

my pc is at 3.2 right now and my vcore is at 1.3 which isnt much at all and its prime95 stable.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 02:36 AM   #19 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: OC q6600 G0 9x333

is it 400 with 8x multiplyer? I just tried that, and system wouldent boot more than a second, then the 4th time it would revert 400x8 to 266x8
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 02:50 AM   #20 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: OC q6600 G0 9x333

k well run 9x and run the fsb a litle higher like 350, your mobo should be able tp push more fsb, and the p35 dont really have a fsb wall issue. if it still wont boot, boost your vcore voltage, im at 400mghz fsb, and 9x multiplier, with a1.36corevoltage.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
Q6600: G0 Stepping vs B3 Stepping 96z28 New Systems | Building and Buying 17 02-26-2008 12:45 PM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM
Cheapest Q6600 Build Gumbercules New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-01-2007 01:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.