Nvidia vs. ATi - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2006, 09:11 PM   #11 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

I can't speak for high end ATI cards, but I personally do not see anything wrong with the drivers. I have a second PC, that has an X1300Pro in it that I got for $79 shipped. I have not had any problems with their drivers. Mabey I am just lucky. I agree with what was said before. ATI goes for fancy features, and new technologies. Nvidia goes for numbers and brute force. Mabey that will change with the R600, mabey not. Either way, I'm going to wait until both the G80 and R600 are out and there are benchmarks before I buy either one.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 09:17 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
suicide007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: inside.
Posts: 279
Default

Is there a real advantage to a 512 MB card? cause thats why i wanna go with the gtx. If it doesnt have to commuicate with the rest of the mobo as often, it should go faster, right? Also, i wont have to upgrade a 512 MB card as soon.
__________________

__________________
Intel Conroe e6750
SLI EVGA 8800gts KO's
4GB Patriot DDR2 800mhz
22" Widescreen Sceptre LCD monitor 5ms
OCZ 700W psu
320gb seagate w/ perpindicular tech.
Creative SB X-Fi Fatality
Thermaltake Armor: Extreme Edition
suicide007 is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 10:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

wait, am i reading it right that green radience got banned or is he just fooling?
john3 is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 10:55 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

There isn't an advantage to 512MB of memory. It's just a marketing ploy because humans view things in quantity rather than quality. More = Better...?

I really don't think 256MB is being completely used. A lot of people still play on 128MB cards just fine.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 02:25 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by john3
wait, am i reading it right that green radience got banned or is he just fooling?
yes, he is banned

having 512MB memory can be an advantage, depending on the game. if you have AA, AF and resolution up full, a lot of VRAM gets taken. though 99% of the time, the performance increase is barely anything, since no games currently use that much VRAM - unless, like I said, you had AA, AF and resolution at max, and even then that's only in more demanding games.

however in future, games will be more demanding.
I believe the game STALKER, which has been in production for a LONG time, will probabbly warrant 512MB
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 08:00 AM   #16 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Why is he banned?

512mb dosn't do much now, but in doom 3 and quake 4 id recommends a 512mb video card for ultra quality. But even then it dosn't do much. Now in UT2007, that may all change.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 01:25 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
suicide007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: inside.
Posts: 279
Default

Yea, cause i just got a real job, and i want to go all out so i wont have to upgrade for a whole. Also, the 512 MB cards have better cooling, dont they?
__________________
Intel Conroe e6750
SLI EVGA 8800gts KO's
4GB Patriot DDR2 800mhz
22" Widescreen Sceptre LCD monitor 5ms
OCZ 700W psu
320gb seagate w/ perpindicular tech.
Creative SB X-Fi Fatality
Thermaltake Armor: Extreme Edition
suicide007 is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 01:53 PM   #18 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

in my experience in single card setups the radeon x1900xtx out performs the geforce7900gtx but in multi card setups nvidia pulls ahead, mainly because crossfire isnt as efficeint as sli is and has alot of bugs. but ati cards have avivo which is cool and can have AA, AF and HDR on at the same time. nvidia cards cant
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 09:30 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 106
Default

lol... how dumb.... ATI and Nvidia have their own advantages... when u wan to run double card.. use Nvidia... when u wan to use a card only... just ATI.....
SpringNite is offline  
Old 05-31-2006, 01:57 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 354
Default

Simple solution...everybody here rob a bank, set up two pcs - one using crossfire and the other using sli with the best possible cards - and we will never have to have this discussion again.
__________________

__________________
Resident Survival-Horror Expert....I had a mustache once; of course I'm an expert!
dartgande is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.