Nvidia Taking Over - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2006, 03:34 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

man, how are we advancing in computer technology if the same principle is being used "bigger is better"

I honestly think that the G80 is good enough already IT CAN HANDLE CRYSIS!!

why would you need anything more expensive and better than that?
0_o

Goodness gracious, i mean my whole goal this year is to make my comptuer handle crysis.
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 03:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

lets keep in mind here that the G80 is not a true dual core gpu... the R600 will be the first, ATi will carry the day.

imo (btw i am clairvoyant (sp?)) amd/ati will steamplow intel and nvidia in about a year maybe a year and a half (in the gaming sector) because they will be focusing on nothing but gaming. intel will still be bigger, but we dont care about them putting cpus in the boxes our mildly techno-retarded parents buy... we care about frames per second, and that is what amd/ati are in the business of making.

intel and nvidia released their PSUDO-quadcore cpu and PSUDO-dualcore gpu because when amd and ati release the real thing, its going to make intel/nvidia's sak shrink (by comparison)

*the G80 does look sick though
__________________

__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 04:26 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cwiz
lets keep in mind here that the G80 is not a true dual core gpu... the R600 will be the first, ATi will carry the day.
The G80 doesn't pretend to be a Dual Core. And no one said it was.

And where'd you get that the R600 with be Dual Core?

Quote:
Originally posted by cwiz
imo (btw i am clairvoyant (sp?)) amd/ati will steamplow intel and nvidia in about a year maybe a year and a half (in the gaming sector) because they will be focusing on nothing but gaming. intel will still be bigger, but we dont care about them putting cpus in the boxes our mildly techno-retarded parents buy... we care about frames per second, and that is what amd/ati are in the business of making.
What a load of crap. Being clairvoyant isn't good enough around here, you've gotta back it up with facts.

Fact is; AMD likes gaming, but knows that it's going to fall flat on it's face if it focuses on it. What little marketshare AMD has isn't because of the gaming sector, its because of the corporate arena and their unchallenged Opteron 800s and HyperTransport Bus. I don't get your point about ATi since it and Nvidia are both mainly in the gaming business already. But AMD isn't getting ahead anytime soon.

Quote:
Originally posted by cwiz
intel and nvidia released their PSUDO-quadcore cpu and PSUDO-dualcore gpu.
Pseudo-quadcore? Do you even know what native and non-native are? And who cares? Its 4 cores, in one CPU, that I can hold in my hand. As far as most of the world is concerned, that's a Quad Core right there. And it performs, better than anything else out there (Which is...nothing? Hmm, if AMD's so great, then where the h*ll are they?).
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 04:35 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

God man, TriEclipse has been pwning n00bs left and right these past few days. I love it!
The General is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 05:02 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Its only when people pretend to have crystal balls that riles me up. I have absolutely no problem with being corrected, as long as whoever is correcting me provides an ounce of proof.

I lied. Its that, and when people pretend that AMD is teh hax0rz when it's getting owned. Credit where credit is due - Athlon 64s were great. But its not 2005 anymore, and there's something better out now.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 06:03 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

So wait? AMD and ATI are both working on the R600?

And Intel and Nvidia both made the G80?

I never knew this

But still i am going to have to give it to Nvidia, they got it out first and its the sickest card out. I couldnt imagine ATi coming out with something way better.
alexsabree is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 07:06 PM   #17 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default

I cleaned up the thread. Let's keep it clean.

If anyone disagrees with someone else, fine... express that without being a phallus.

Don't knock The Inquirer. While it is true that they sometimes run with the ball before they have all the details, they also break stories way before others even know that the story is there.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 07:26 PM   #18 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default

Oh, and the two SLI thingies are for running SLI plus a physics board.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 07:26 PM   #19 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by maroon1
Most of news that come from "theinquirer" is not true.

theinquirer once said that X1800xt will have 32 pipeline, but when it came out it had only 16 pipes

The same thing to 7900GTX, they said that it will have 32 pipes, but when it came out it had only 24 pipes

So, I don't trust theinquirer, and I don't agree that R600 will be better than G80.

You need just to wait and see benchmarks that compare R600 with G80

Also, don't forget that nvidia might release 8900 when R600 comes out
I smell the reek of fanboy that hasn't showered in at least several weeks.

The R600 WILL have 512-bit GDDR4 memory and it WILL have at least 1gb of VRAM. It's core clock speed will also be most likely 1ghz or more. These basic specs have been confirmed by many other sources than theinq. And AMD/ATI already has testing units.

The fact of the matter is, from the looks of it, the card will eat the G80 for breakfast. Although as already pointed out, we can't be sure about anything until there are actual benchmarks out.

LOL @ the comment of nvidia coming out with the "8900". The X900 (where X= 7 or 8) series cards that nvidia releases are just refreshes of the X800 cards. To bring the G80 up to spec of the current status of the R600, nvidia would pretty much have to release a 9800, which won't be happening for a while. I am not an ATI fanboy and I own all nvidia cards, but I just find it so annoying that 90% of the people here always dismiss ati and say "OMG TEH NVIDIA PWNZORZ T3H ATI11!!!!!!11!!!!11!!2"

Quote:
Originally posted by alexsabree
I couldnt imagine ATi coming out with something way better.
Why not? Because you think nvidia is better than ATI?
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 07:46 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter
Oh, and the two SLI thingies are for running SLI plus a physics board.
Cool, i kinda figured that.

Is the phyisics add-on already out?
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.