NVIDIAŽ QuadroŽ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2008, 02:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 327
Default NVIDIAŽ QuadroŽ

Can someone please explain this series of cards to me?

It seems they are for professionals using CAD or similar, but are they that good for gaming standards? =\
__________________

__________________
InfernoDeals
sinci is offline  
Old 05-03-2008, 03:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: NVIDIAŽ QuadroŽ

They actually score very low in any game benchmark or game for that matter. They really only have 1 purpose; CAD design.. thats about it.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 05-03-2008, 03:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 327
Default Re: NVIDIAŽ QuadroŽ

Oh, okay.
Thanks Lance =]
__________________
InfernoDeals
sinci is offline  
Old 05-03-2008, 03:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: NVIDIAŽ QuadroŽ

Do they obliterate something like an 8800ULTRA in CAD?
zedman3d is offline  
Old 05-03-2008, 04:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 327
Default Re: NVIDIAŽ QuadroŽ

I'd presume so, as that is what they have been released for.
I was just curious how they'd perform in games though =\
__________________
InfernoDeals
sinci is offline  
Old 05-03-2008, 10:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: NVIDIAŽ QuadroŽ

Quote:
Originally Posted by zedman3d View Post
Do they obliterate something like an 8800ULTRA in CAD?
Yes they do

but FireGL's are better in CAD, plus you can flash most ati cards to becomr FireGL
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.