NVIDIA GeForce 8800GT Pictured

Status
Not open for further replies.
double the bandwidth should not make any difference really since PCI-E right now doesn't max out the bandwidth of current cards...

i'm not a big expert, but there's very very little difference between agp 4x and 8x, and from what i hear PCI-E 8x isn't much different than 4x or 16x

well it's going from 2.5 GT/s to 5 GT/s. It sounds like it's a difference. I mean, we havent even seen a PCI-E 2.0 card on a PCI-E 2.0 mobo in benchmarks yet, the products r still in the making. Ur opinions may change, IMO.

well it's going from 2.5 GT/s to 5 GT/s. It sounds like it's a difference. I mean, we havent even seen a PCI-E 2.0 card on a PCI-E 2.0 mobo in benchmarks yet, the products r still in the making. Ur opinions may change, IMO.

We will see but once again...all it does is allow for more bandwidth to travel in the lane. Considering the 650i with x16 on the first and x8 on the second could SLI with pretty much the exact same if not BETTER than the 680i which has two full x16 lanes( using two 8800GTX's). If we haven't even maxed out the PCi-Ex16 lane to begin with, how is it going to help just making a new interface? An X1950XT on AGP compared to one on PCI-E are pretty much the exact same speed.

We will see but once again...all it does is allow for more bandwidth to travel in the lane. Considering the 650i with x16 on the first and x8 on the second could SLI with pretty much the exact same if not BETTER than the 680i which has two full x16 lanes( using two 8800GTX's). If we haven't even maxed out the PCi-Ex16 lane to begin with, how is it going to help just making a new interface? An X1950XT on AGP compared to one on PCI-E are pretty much the exact same speed.

i see ur point. It sounds like u think PCI-E 2.0 wont be any difference from PCI-E 1.1, but i dont want to go against u though.

all i can really say is that we have to wait for benchmarks to see if what u say is right.