Now a ram question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2014, 01:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Now a ram question

I was just putting the finishing touches on my build that I'll be ordering next week and on PP's recommendation I went with the Team brand on the ram and great timing on them too (Thanks again PP) However when looking through the ram I noticed the G.Skill for the same price, Now I have used G.Skill in the past and have not had a bad stick yet and used to be the most recommended ram on THIS site. The one thing that got my attention was it was the 1866 still with great timing in stead of the 1600, I know 1600 is more than fast enough but faster is always nice LOL Should I go with the G.Skill or stay with the Team Dark series that PPMguire recommended over the ram I originally had on my list.

G.Skill ram
G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900) Desktop Memory Model F3-1866C9D-16GSR - Newegg.com

Team Ram
Newegg.com - Team Dark Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model TDD316G1600HC9DC01
__________________

__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 09:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Now a ram question

For $5 less, there's a 1600 Team version on Newegg.

For $137, get GeIL EVO Veloce Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model GEV316GB1600C9DC - Newegg.com

All in all, RAM is RAM, the choice is yours.

P.S. - It's funny because I have that exact GSKill RAM lol you listed lol.
__________________

__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 09:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Now a ram question

Yea G.Skill is still highly recommended by myself and others but in the case of RAM I think I knocked everybody's heads together to know that "RAM is RAM". Faster isn't always better in the case of stability but timings make more of a difference than raw speed unless you run games on an IGP. So really it's up to you. In the end you won't see a difference with either set you go with.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 05:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Byxorna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Default Re: Now a ram question

The slightly faster RAM has slightly higher timings, you probably wouldn't be able to tell the difference between the two. Just make sure that whatever motherboard you have supports RAM speeds above 1600, if you choose to go that route.
Byxorna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 06:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: Now a ram question

The MB is speced for silly OC lol, Will be ordering in about a week, Will go over what ram is priced right then and what has the best timing, No brand in particular just good specs but the two in this thread are the top 2 contenders. This is the MB I'm using.
Newegg.com - ASUS Z87-A LGA 1150 Intel Z87 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 09:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: Now a ram question

Well got the replacement team dark series ram in so I put it in and $&@£€•£!>\%# got the same error so apparently there is some comparability issues with this ram and my MB but I had enough of RMA crap so I called newegg and did hopefully my last RMA and ordered corsair on sale for $20 more than the Team sale price I got for $129. The Corsair is the pro version but it's the same ram I'm borrowing from a friend and it's working great on my MB. The funny thing is the Team ram works if I only put one stick but if I put the pair it errors and won't boot up. Even updated the bios just to make sure that wouldn't work but no go, well anyway got some great ram I got for $149
Newegg.com - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMY16GX3M2A1600C9R Red)
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 09:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Now a ram question

Did you try the second channel or having each stick in separate channels?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 09:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: Now a ram question

Yes, also tried playing with the speed and tried default settings and no matter what it wouldn't boot with both sticks installed, Tried all 4 slots with both just for comparison but the team ram wouldn't boot up if both were installed. Second set to do this so spent a little more on some that are working well on the board, not too bad of a price increase so I'm not so bothered and newegg has been great.
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 09:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Now a ram question

Interesting how Asus would have a problem but ASRock hasn't had issues. +1 to ASRock.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 10:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: Now a ram question

Lol ok I'll give you that, Still like asus however.
__________________

__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ram Ram Ram ???? the milkman New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-16-2006 10:50 PM
new computer now complete - ram question EviLLLLSiNz System Upgrades 7 12-18-2005 08:36 PM
Want The Sony PSP Version 2.0 Upgrade Now, Surf The Web With It Now! ZOverLord Sony Playstation 0 07-27-2005 05:30 PM
RAM is RAM is RAM? star_topology Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 17 04-29-2005 04:04 PM
Ram and ram and ram supbro Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 12-19-2004 05:16 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.